'Tis The Season in Muddling Through As Best I Can

  • Nov. 29, 2014, 8:32 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well, the holiday season is upon us down here. Our Thanksgiving Day was very nice. Got my whole little clan gathered under one roof, although Brian was late due to work.
My eldest son, Brandon got home the night before, he’s been training with his K-9 partner, Freak, for the last three weeks. I spent part of my day getting viciously attacked by a police dog, lol. The padded suits prevent injury although his bite was strong enough to cause some slight bruising to my left arm. I just had to try it out and see what Freak was capable of. He is really an amazing dog. Best of all, he’s trained to protect his master/partner at all costs. It was more physical than I’m used to anymore, but how many times in your life will you have a highly trained police dog try to kill you? I thought not.
He also told me something unrelated that, being an undeducated dork of an American I never thought of; the American Indians on the reservation where he works are offended by the Thanksgiving Holiday. I never thought of it, but it makes sense considering the origins of the day.
At any rate I visited with family, played with my grandchildren, and had a truly wonderful day.
That’s what I give thanks for; that in spite of the stress and strife daily living can try to throw at us, at the end of the day I can look around and see my ever growing family around me safe and sound, healthy and happy.
Tonight I plan on taking as many grandchildren and children to see the local Christmas light garden as we can squeeze into the cars and gear up for the Christmas Season. It’s going to be a great day.
This is going to be a busy time of year for me as head of household. I tend to do all the cooking and decorating when I’m not at work, and we are volunteering some time at a local food pantry lately so I may not be looking in as much.
I hope you all enjoy a wonderful holiday season, and that you are surrounded by the warmth and love of your family. Be safe.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.