A day off is a wonderful thing in My this and that

  • Nov. 27, 2014, 10:32 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I have a few holiday days to use up before the end of the year, so I’ve taken one day off a week starting this week, until Christmas.

What a great opportunity to get some Christmas shopping and baking done. Also, I get to enjoy time sewing! Yesterday was my day off. I slept in until 7:30 a.m., then started a sewing project. I’m making a sweater for a friend, it’s the same sweater I’ve already made for myself, and it’s a pretty quick project. I’m so honoured that she liked my sweater enough to ask me to make her one. I am trying really hard to make sure the quality is good. Sometimes, when it’s just for myself I just do projects “good enough” instead of really taking the time to make sure they are done well.

I also made invitations to go out to all of our neighbours, inviting them over for a kind of “open house” type thing for Christmas. I thought it’d be good to meet some of our neighbours, share some Christmas baking, and just spread some Christmas cheer this way. I’ve lived in the building for 8 years, and still barely know anyone.

I included in each invitation, an invitation to our church’s Christmas Production, which I think will be really good. I’m helping out at it (behind the scenes). I like the idea of helping out, but every year while I’m doing it I think to myself (WHY DID I VOLUNTEER AGAIN!?!?!?) hopefully this year won’t be like that. I hope it’s well organized and just fun for everyone. I don’t like the stress it normally causes.

Pastor asked me to do the advent reading in church this week. What an honour! I’m nervous already, since we go to a large church. But I will re-read it a bunch before hand so I can do a smooth reading on Sunday.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.