Stocking up in keeping it postive

  • Nov. 26, 2014, 4:49 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Like the squirrel gathering nuts for the winter, I gather canned food. There just might be days where I have no desire to go out due to the winter weather.

Every time I shop for groceries, I make sure to get extra cans of beans or of soup. (I love the lentil soup over brown rice or kasha.) I also stock up on canned carrots and canned corn.

I try to get fresh salads, veggies, and other items to pair with all this processed foods, but at least there’s SOMETHING just in case.

I also have lots of oatmeal, dried fruit, and the spices that go into the oatmeal - cinnamon or pumpkin pie spice or ginger. And in case I cannot get milk, I have lots of cocoa that I can mix my instant coffee into - great mocha!


Beret November 26, 2014

Sounds like a plan!

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm November 26, 2014

i do the same thing. always get a bit extra in case i dont' feel like going shopping. or if we have a weather related disaster and i can't get to the store. it feels good to go into the pantry and see it so full. take care,

Darcy0207 from OD Silent Echo/Quiet Storm ⋅ November 26, 2014

I have to stock up on more brown rice (I get the boil in bag lately) and kasha (buckwheat - also boil in bag). I have a large box of mashed potato flakes - I melt cheese in it and add some veggies (I also have to get more canned spinach...). Living by myself, I don't have to cater to another person's food wants...

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm Darcy0207 from OD ⋅ November 26, 2014

i think not having to cater to anyone's food wants or not wants is one of the good things about living alone. not all living alone is bad. tell me about canned spinach. i have about 1/2 dozen cans and i'm not sure what to do with it. take care,

Darcy0207 from OD Silent Echo/Quiet Storm ⋅ November 26, 2014

I like spinach mixed with mashed potatoes. Even if they're both offered at a restaurant, I mix them together.
When I cook spinach I don't cook it as much as is done commercially, but sometimes (like today) I have NO interest in going outside.
I also add canned veggies to canned soup - which I sometimes feel needs more vegetables to be added.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.