Thanksgiving in Regular Stuff

  • Nov. 26, 2014, 4:27 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I always have so much to be thankful for, every single day. But I’m feeling especially grateful and somewhat nostalgic this year. I just feel so blessed and so lucky.

My Facebook friends may have see my post where I said this will be the first time in many years, that I will have almost all of my immediate family with me. And they are coming to our house! And most of Bonnie’s family will be here as well. For those that don’t know, Bonnie is my best friend of 40 some years and also the paternal grandmother of my two youngest granddaughters. So it will be a good crowd of about 25, if everyone shows.

Bonnie, her sister Susan and my daughter Aimee, are doing all the cooking. We couldn’t ask for 3 better cooks. Cooking is not my thing. I’m pretty good at it for the most part and I do have a few things I make really well, but I just don’t have the passion for it that makes someone a great cook. I’m perfectly happy doing the clean-up. I’m weird in that I find doing dishes very soothing.

I just recently survived an almost 2 week bout of sciatica. Oh my gosh, was it painful! My entire right side, hip, leg and lower back ranged from moderately painful to downright excruciating. They finally put me on steroids which thankfully helped tremendously. Unfortunately, I’m still having a lot of pain in my left knee which started about a week ago. I believe this is a result of favoring my left leg when I was in so much pain on the right side. I mean I was walking like a cripple, struggling to even get to the bathroom! Thank God, it has gotten so much better. It really made more think of all the people who suffer from chronic pain. God bless them.

I don’t have much else to say except to wish everyone a happy Thanksgiving. I hope your day is filled with love and family and good food.


Deleted user November 26, 2014

It sounds like you are going to have a wonderful Thanksgiving with friends and family. Happy Thanksgiving!

Anaiss November 26, 2014

I didn't know that you share 2 of your grandchildren with your best friend -- that's awesome! Sounds like it's going to be a wonderful Thanksgiving Day at your house.

Ann1107 Anaiss ⋅ November 26, 2014

I don't think anyone would have imagined our two kids getting together. They hated each other when they were kids and well into their teens. Lol. And yes it is pretty awsome for Bonnie and I, we've shared so much over the years but this is the best of all.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.