Survey for Monday of Turkey Day Week in Roundtrip Ticket to Paradise 2

  • Nov. 24, 2014, 5:26 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

…grabbed from Gypsy Spirit…

~

You wearing a hat?
Not at this moment, but when I leave the building, I will. It’s a Carhartt’s khaki-colored watch cap, plus my top coat has a hood.

Bottled water:
Nope. If I have a leftover coffee go-cup, I might refill it at a sink or water fountain.

What kind of laptop do you have?
None, but I do need one. (Suggestions?)

Do you prefer writing with pen or pencil?
Between the two, pen. But I prefer to type.

Who was the last text message in your phone?
Apart from confirmation that I’d put more minutes on my phone, last message was from DM.

What is your favourite season?
I’ll second Gypsy Spirit with Breakup and Freezeup… erm, make that Spring and Autumn. Spring, everything smells fresh and new, and I start thinking of setting up a BBQ grill (which I haven’t done these last two years, dammit). Autumn, the changing colors of the leaves, and if it’s warm enough, the sensation of walking barefoot through fallen leaves.

What is your favourite seasonal activity ?
Walking, all seasons. I’d love to bicycle, but don’t currently have one, any time there’s no ice or snow to deal with. BBQ/grilling, anytime it’s warm enough.

Does your best friend have a boyfriend/girlfriend?
Hmmm… “best friend”=someone I can call when there’s some kind of crisis or just ennui… unfortunately, that would be Madame Водки. She has lots of admirers, or at least devotées.

Favourite radio station?
KUAC-FM, 89.9, also available on the internet. Local NPR (National Public Radio) affiliate.

Type your name into Google, what is the first thing that comes up?
An English psychedelic-rock singer/songwriter.

What is your favourite song at the moment?
At this moment, I’m thinking of “Total Eclipse of the Heart” by Bonnie Tyler.

Coke or Pepsi?
Mmmm… root beer/sarsaparilla, Dr Pepper, 7-up

Favourite subject in school?
Math… both high-school math teachers were quirky individuals.

Last concert?
Wow… it’s been a while. I’m thinking the Denali Cooks out at the Blue Loon, but that was years ago.

Next concert?
Don’t know yet.

Best concerts I ever saw ?
Probably that Denali Cooks concert. Danced every song (by myself, unfortunately).

Last magazine you bought?
Maybe Mother Earth News? Someone set me up a subscription to Playboy; don’t know who or why, as it’s not a magazine I myself would have subscribed.

Last book you read?
Thumbed through a re-issue of the children’s book Tootle yesterday at Freddy’s. Sent my niece EJ a copy a few years back.

Do you prefer cats or dogs?
Dogs, but I do get along with cats too.

Is there someone you want to punch right now?
Can’t think of anyone at the moment.

State you most want to visit?
Hawaii, even given the lurid underbelly presented in “Dog the Bounty Hunter”.

Country you want to visit ?
Denmark (again, love that smørrebrød!), New Zealand, Australia, Costa Rica

Are you a Facebook addict?
I wouldn’t say “addict”; I have two accounts there (yeah, violation of TOS, so sue me), but rarely post anything other than messages or comments on others’ posts.

When do you shower?
After every sit-down, or when I notice I need to.

What is your dream job?
Something involving a computer, gambling/investing, maybe travelling and photography, writing.

What kind of car do you drive?
Don’t currently have a car. If there were an all-wheel-drive Nissan Cube, maybe that.

What word in the dictionary best describes you?
I’d like to say “Dragon” (of the Asian Protector type), but closer to reality would be “Unsure”.

Lights on or off?
Off. Maybe leave the light over the kitchen sink on so I don’t trip over something if I need to get up at night.

Do you care about who wins the election?
Oh, yes. Mark Begich lost, unfortunately.

However, Walker and Mallott won! We also voted to legalize marijuana, and raise the minimum wage and re-hitch it to the cost of living.

Are you afraid of ghosts?
No.

Is there something lacking in your life right now?
A significant other.

What do you miss most about childhood?
The innocence.

Do you drink alcohol?
Yes, but trying to quit.

Do you do drugs?
Illegal ones, no. I do take a “senior” vitamin supplement, omega-3 fish oil capsule, and magnesium supplement daily.

Are you a good liar?
I don’t think so. My Aspie trait of tending to cut my eyes away gives it away.

Can you cook ?
Oh, yes.

Are you a cheapskate?
I try to be frugal. Can’t recall the last time I was in a sit-down restaurant.

What would you do with a million dollars?
Invest it, live off the interest, maybe endow some Impact scholarships.

Have you ever been to Disneyworld?
I have… but probably not in the future.

Last time you went bowling?
Never done so. Usual reason to go to a bowling center is to visit the bar.

Biggest fear ?
Out-living my money.

How many pairs of shoes do you own?
4, I think. One pair Xtratuff boots, one pair heavy winter boots, two pair sneakers.

How many purses?
None. I do have a camera bag, and I have a reusable-shopping bag which is my work bag.

Are you a shop-a-holic?
Window shopping only… I don’t really need more STUFF.

Are you afraid of the dentist?
Not particularly, but I haven’t seen one in decades.

Do you make wishes ?
I don’t think so, anymore.

Do you trust people?
To a point, yes, unless they break it. However, trusting someone with my heart, that’s a doozy.

Who was the last person in your bedroom?
Me, myself, and I!

Be honest, do you generally like people?
Generally yes, unless I get a gut hunch otherwise.

Would you rather smile over a lie or cry over the truth?
Hard to say. It feels good to hear ND say she loves me… but I know she is gay, and there will never be a possibility of a relationship deeper than “just friends” with her.

Who was the last person you got into an argument with?
A cabbie from a different company; turned out one of his passengers mis-identified herself to me, so I thought they were supposed to be my passengers. I was wrong, but then my passenger no-showed, and I flagged someone else who ended up going quite a distance. The other cabbie’s passengers only went about a quarter-mile. -evil smile-

What is the weirdest family story you know about your family?
One of my mother’s cousins was doing some genealogical research, and discovered an astonishing number of suicides, so hung that project up.

If you could move away, no questions asked, where would you move?
Any of the countries mentioned above, preferably seaside.

Does it take a lot to make you cry?
Inside, no. But I try not to show it in public.

What is your first thought when your alarm goes off?
OK, where do I need to go today?

Did you like this survey?
Yes, they’re all interesting.


Last updated November 24, 2014


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.