Titles Suck in Diary

  • Nov. 23, 2014, 8:18 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I can never think of a title for this bloody thing, but it won’t let me post without one.

I had another bad day with the huskies on Friday. One of them managed to barge through the living room door, jump over two stair gates, barge into the bedroom and grab the cat again. Luckily, the other dog didn’t join in this time so it wasn’t as bad, but it was still a pretty vicious fight and I ended up deciding that I couldn’t walk them anymore and I was going to tell the owner that it would be my last walk. Because the walk before was also a nightmare, same as usual, with them both fighting with the haltis, getting tangled up, pulling. One of them fought with the halti so much, he got it tangled around his lower jaw and, when I went to sort him out, my hands came away covered in blood. So I got the blood of three different animals on my hands in the space of half an hour. I should not have to deal with this shit.

I started to text the owner “Hi I’m really sorry but Sabre slipped out of my grip and…” because of the stupid placement of the buttons on the phone, I accidentally pressed send and she immediately rang me back “Oh my god, has he run away? Have you lost him?” No, no he hasn’t run away. But I lost my nerve and didn’t end up telling her that I can’t take them anymore. So I’m going to fight for one more week.

See this photo, they look absolutely lovely. And they are, when they’re sitting quietly at home. Really friendly towards humans would never hurt anyone. It’s hard to believe that they’re hell bent on feline murder.

I’m hoping the whole thing won’t be for much longer; I’ve applied for 18 jobs so far. I’m surprised there’s so much out there that meet my criteria, actually. Not too far away, pay the same or more as I was on before, work that I can actually do (or think I can!). I’m also being a bit ambitious and applying for Office Manager and Team Leader jobs. Even though I’ve never done those before, I have nine years office experience, plus, for the last 18 months, I was effectively running the office myself anyway as my line manager worked in London and I only spoke to her about once a month and she left me to it. So I’m hoping that experience will get me something officially for higher wages.

Since I’ve started searching, I’ve been getting millions of automated emails from job sites with “We have 50 new jobs for you!” and then 90% of them are completely unsuitable, so that’s slightly annoying.

I was a bit nervous telling Jay as he’s spent so long supporting me; designing all my branding, coming up with a marketing plan etc. But he just said “I had a feeling you would.” I asked him how long he thought I would last and he replied “I hadn’t really put a time on it.” I had a feeling he thought I wouldn’t last very long. And he was right. Fail!



In other news, I signed up for something called Perfect Strangers. You send in your name and address and a list of likes and dislikes, they match you with someone (a complete stranger) and you send each other a box full of goodies, with a limit of £10. In mine I got a purple scarf (I have a million purple scarves already, people keep buying me them for Christmas! lol), a giant chunk of soap from Lush (I love Lush, but I can’t stand going in the shop as the smell is so strong it gives me a headache), some different flavoured hot chocolate sachets and some glittery hairspray; all fun stuff!

I’m sending her a book about old musicals (she loves books, old Hollywood films and music so that fits all three of those!), some scented candles, face mask, hand cream, different flavoured tea bags as she loves tea and a vintage type necklace with a globe that actually spins and a pair of binoculars on it. I hope she likes it all :o)

I might sign up again, it’s good fun preparing the boxes and seeing what surprises you get in return.



Oh I forgot to say I made chutney last week, with leftover green tomatoes that we grew ourselves! I’ve never made it before but, if it tastes good, I’m going to give it away for Christmas presents. It took about five hours altogether; chopping everything into tiny pieces, mixing, boiling, putting into jars. It absolutely stinks when it’s cooking; boiling vinegar smells vile. So I hope it tastes better than it smells.

This weekend I get a whole 23 hours in between pet care assignments, which is a huge luxury! Tonight we’re going out for an Indian for Jay’s birthday and tomorrow, after I’ve finished work (fighting with all the dogs again) we’re off to Birmingham for the Christmas market and to see Dave Gorman live. I can’t wait for it all :o)


Waterfire November 23, 2014

We do a lot of those box swaps in the pony collecting community, they're great!

Vee November 24, 2014

No one thinks you've failed your pet business, we all admire you for bring brave enough to give it a go and being so organised

Babe In Toyland November 24, 2014

Nothing wrong with applying for higher ranking jobs. They can only say no!

Deleted user November 24, 2014

Omigosh those huskies x.x Why would people want to keep them if they keep trying to kill the cat?! I would honestly be terrified of being the one there when they finally do get the cat......

I like that gift giving idea! I dont know if they do that sort of thing here.

Hopefully Jay doesn't act like a prude at his birthday dinner like he did yours x.x Good luck!

Canadian Lass November 24, 2014

I still have faith in you!!!1

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.