NJM21 in NoJoMo 2014

  • Nov. 21, 2014, 9:01 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Things I always did with my mom when I was little . . .

My Mom was the more serious parent, she took care of the housework, taught Spec.Ed. at school, but when we were little, she stayed home with us and did all sorts of crafts with my sister and I.

What I really remember as time with just her and I were countless hours on the baseball field, where she coached my softball team and helping her with her dogs that she bred and showed, when I was not so little.

She would show two or three dogs at a time and when my Dad couldn’t go away with her I would and we’d spend a day or weekend with her dogs, showing them and grooming them, talking to all sorts of people, but we always had time to spend together, over a lunch or the long drive wherever the show was that weekend.

It’s hard to believe she’s been gone almost eleven years now.

Happy Friday, have a great weekend!!


ermentrude November 21, 2014

Good memories :-) x

Zipster November 21, 2014

What a great memories. I'm sure they make you smile and in that moment, you're together again.

Deleted user November 21, 2014

Great memories. Do you have any pics of you two together from back then?

thesunnyabyss Deleted user ⋅ November 22, 2014

I do, I'll have to dig them up :)

woman in the moon November 22, 2014

I would like to see a picture of you and your mom too. She sounds like an accomplished woman. What kind of dogs did she raise?

Just a thought - her death was pretty recent when I began reading you. What a long time we've been together.

thesunnyabyss woman in the moon ⋅ November 22, 2014

I started on OD about a month after she died, so it's been awhile :)

She raised Schipperke and Keeshunds, our old dog that died about two years ago, the fluffy one in the photos was a Keeshund,

NorthernSeeker November 22, 2014

Huh...what kind of dogs did your mom breed?

thesunnyabyss NorthernSeeker ⋅ November 22, 2014

Schipperke's and Keeshunds later, I'll post some photos later, I'm not sure if you were reading when we still had Leifje, who was our Kees,

NorthernSeeker thesunnyabyss ⋅ November 24, 2014

I do recall you writing about Lefje...sweet doggie. What kind of personality do they have? They were bred to live on barges, weren't they?

Tick Tock Tick November 27, 2014

Fascinating. I don't remember about your Mom coaching softball. She seems an unusual Mother for that time. // Also, what kind of dogs was she showing? // Did you feel she loved you? I remember you were closer to your Dad. When you describe her as "more serious" do you mean she took on mothering as more of a duty? Or was it simply her nature?

thesunnyabyss Tick Tock Tick ⋅ November 28, 2014

my Mom was much more closed off than my Dad as we got older, she was our main caretaker while we were really young, she stayed home with us, and she was a great Mom, but as we got older she was more and more closed, I feel that she loved me, I just am not sure she knew how to express it, she was the serious parent that said no when needed, my dad, we could get him to do almost anything with a good enough reason, lol,

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.