Snow Day in In the Meadow

  • Nov. 20, 2014, 9:05 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

The big blizzard is still going on. We were lucky enough not to live in one of the lake effect snow bands and only got about four inches of snow. I have seen pictures of areas just a few miles from here that got more than six feet of snow. School was closed today and is closed again tomorrow. So the kids only had school on Monday and Wednesday of this week. They go to a private school and their students come from all over the area. I’m not really sure how much snow other parts of our town got. We’ve only been about two miles from home since the blizzard started. People aren’t supposed to venture out because a lot of cars were getting stuck in the snow.

Tonight we watched some of President Obama’s speech with the kids. I remember watching President Reagan speak on television when I was their age.

Since we will not be able to have Thanksgiving on the actual day and we were all here today, we decided to go ahead and have our turkey dinner today. It came out very well and was one of the better turkeys I’ve had. We got a pumpkin pie to have for dessert.

My parents were not affected by the storm where they live, so that was good. I’ve been sort of worried about my mom since my grandma passed away six years ago. My grandpa passed away about ten years before her. After grandma passed away my mom said something that concerned me. She said that even though my grandparents were married before they had kids, grandpa is not the biological father of the older kids. But she said that he is the biological father of the two youngest kids (my mom and her brother.) My mom is a retired nurse, so she would understand that she couldn’t know that for sure with the information she has. I was worried that she was getting confused. I’ve been watching her closely since then but she seems okay. She gets anxious sometimes but she isn’t forgetting things and seems able to keep up her schedule. She hasn’t said anything more about it since then, and I haven’t brought it up. She had just lost her mom at the time and was taking some prescription medicine, so that may have explained it.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.