Iliotibial WHAT?! in A New Beginning

  • Nov. 20, 2014, 4:35 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Hello again, friends!! :o) !! Well, I have been going to Physical Therapy for two full weeks now (twice a week) and my leg is getting better! Last night was the first night in a week or so that I’ve NOT worn an Icy-Hot patch to bed, and my leg was fine and only started to cramp a wee bit, toward getting-up time. That is MUCH better! For a week or two, I couldn’t ever get up out of bed without painful cramping, and I couldn’t even get my darn socks on without Joe’s help! That was nooooooooo fun at all. I am thankful that I can go to physical therapy, AND IT HELPS!

The therapist said that this doesn’t seem to have anything to do with my lower back; he says it’s my hamstring and iliotibial band, which are sooooo sore and sooooo tight. The exercises I do make them sorer, but then they feel better because it’s loosening them up. I’m not SUPER-good about doing them at home, but I do make sure to do some of them at home every day I don’t go to PT. Well actually, I do most of them at home....I just have to wait ‘til Guinness is outside or in his room, cuz he can be a bit of a pest. ;o) !!

Soooo and also, in health-related but not leg-related news.....did I tell you that my blood test I had last showed I have high calcium? So I have to get another blood test next week. My doctor asked me if I take calcium. I said no, but I drink LOTS of milk. So I’ve stopped drinking milk, and will see if this puts my calcium in the “normal” range. If it doesn’t, then it probably means there’s a problem with my parathyroid....which is rarely cancer, and easily fixable. Or apparently high blood calcium can also be a symptom of certain types of cancer. I really don’t want to think about that, but I also really don’t think that is what I have. So! I WILL be glad to know the verdict on this, though. And also, I’m having a mammogram on Monday....just to be having one. I haven’t had one in a few years.

Damn, now I am a person who can fill a whole entry with my own medical stuff! :oO !! It does bother me a bit, since my Mom and brother both died of cancer in their fifties. On the one hand, I have way too much to do to be dyin’. On the other, I AM pretty damn tired! ;o) !! But who wants to deal with that stuff?! NO ONE!!!!!!!!!!!

But, I do have a few other things to write about! Life is pretty good! :o) !! ONE MORE DAY of work, and then I am off ALL OF NEXT WEEK! The kids and us cafeteria staff are off all week. The teachers have parent/teacher conferences Monday and Tuesday and maybe Wednesday too. We (me and the Joes) were going to go to Carrie’s for Thanksgiving, but with my leg troubles, I can’t comfortably make an eleven-hour car drive, so we’re going to go at Christmas instead. So that means I get to cook Thanksgiving dinner! And I do like to, even though Carrie cooks a delicious one also. We won’t be having company because my sisters, niece and nephew had already made dinner reservations at a restaurant. But I am sure that I WILL have a great time going out-and-about with my sisters, a time or two during my NINE DAYS OFF!! :o) !!

Well, dear friends, I’ve been interrupted by a phone call, and I’m also workin’ at cooking dinner....so I’m going to sign off for now and wish you a happy Friday and weekend!

hugs and blessings,
Nicky


Ragdolls November 20, 2014

So glad that the PT is helping your leg. It seems that as we get older 'medical stuff' takes over our lives.

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm November 20, 2014

high calcium is what put me in the hospital back in july. it caused a constant medium grade pain in my stomach that caused me to stop eating for over a month and i lost 20#. (have kept it off since). i have to limit my calcium to 1000mg or 1200mg a day. that's 4 cups of milk. i can't take calcium tablets. please be careful with all that calcium. i was told that one of my parathyroid glands might have to be removed. and it turned out to be just too much calcium. prayers for you. take care,

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.