Tortilla Soup Recipe (and a bonus picture) in The Long and Winding Road

  • Nov. 19, 2014, 7:04 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

A couple of people asked me for the tortilla soup recipe so I typed it out here last night, and then lost my WiFi connection, and lost the entry. I was too tired to retype it, but I promised I’d be back. So here it is. If you don’t care about the recipe, just scroll down for the picture, cuz I think it’s cute and I want you to see it.

CHICKEN TORTILLA SOUP (or leave out the chicken for a vegetarian variety)

1 - small white onion, chopped
3 - green onions, chopped (add white parts to white onion, save greens for garnish)
1 - red bell pepper, seeded and chopped (I accidentally left this out and it was fine, the soup has a lot of kick)
2 - cloves garlic, minced
2 - tsp. cumin
1-1/2 tsp. chili powder
1/2 tsp. sea salt
pepper to taste
1 - cup frozen corn (I added a little more because I had it)
1 - 14.5 oz. can black beans
2 - 14.5 oz. cans fire roasted diced tomatoes
2 - tbsp. lime juice
2 - 32 oz. boxes low sodium chicken broth
1 - hot deli roasted chicken, shred meat from bones
2 - tbsp. oil for sauteing

GARNISHES (Choose which ones you want):

1 cup Cilantro
Fritos or tortilla strips
Cheddar cheese
Sour Cream

DIRECTIONS:

  • Heat oil on med. in a deep pan (Dutch oven)
  • Add onions and peppers, saute for 5 minutes until soft
  • Add garlic, stirring, saute 1 minute longer
  • Add cumin, chili powder, salt & pepper, beans, corn and tomatoes, stir
  • Add chicken broth and lime juice, bring to a low simmer for 10 minutes
  • Taste, add more seasons if desired
  • Add shredded chicken and cook another 15 minutes
  • Ladle soup into bowls and top with desired garnishes

THE END OF RECIPE!

Ok now the picture. Today is Sarah’s big 40th birthday. I’m heading over to their house after work and we’re going out to a little surprise party for her at a pub. I am, of course, taking a birthday gift. Usually I would also take balloons or flowers because she is my only child and her birthday is always very special to me. But they are leaving on Friday for her birthday trip to Mexico, so flowers or balloons wouldn’t be appreciated for very long. So I found these little battery operated white lights. I LOVE white lights and I stock up on them during the holidays. And it is going to be a lot of fun to arrive at their house tonight in the dark, carrying this birthday gift!

alt text

alt text

That’s all for now, folks!


QueenSuzu November 19, 2014

Just might make this soup tomorrow, I'm always on the lookout for the best! Thanks for sharing.

Anaiss QueenSuzu ⋅ November 20, 2014

Oh, great, let me know if you make it, how you like it!

Just Annie November 20, 2014

Soup sounds great. I'm going to borrow your recipe!

Beret November 20, 2014

I love tortilla soup, without the chicken meat. Thanks for reminding me! Love the gift bag.

GypsyWynd November 20, 2014

How fun!!! I love the gift wrap.
The soup sounds delicious. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

Miso Honey December 04, 2014

Cute present!

I am going to make that soup. It sounds delicious!

Deleted user January 05, 2015

I need to try this ! Love the gift idea !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.