A Week Later in Diary

  • Nov. 19, 2014, 12:17 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

A week after my fight with the wolves and I’m still not enjoying the work. I’m spending all day fighting with large, badly behaved dogs which is tiring me out, three hours a day driving all over the area and trying to avoid being driven off the road by idiots (Seriously, last week someone decided he didn’t want to wait in the rush hour queue like everyone else and decided to overtake a bunch of people then tried to take my place in the queue by pushing my car onto the pavement…), working until 11pm one night then starting again at 6am next day, arguing with customers who agree to quotes then decide it’s too much and ask for a discount AFTER I’ve done the job. And all for around 30% of what I was earning in my boring office job.

It is not the idyllic career I naively imagined, strolling round sunny parks with lovely, well behaved puppies and making lots of friends with lovely customers who pay invoices without question and never cause me any trouble.

Sure, I do have dogs and customers who live up to this ideal, but they are few and far between and don’t balance out the aggro of the trouble makers.

So I’m applying for jobs again. I’ve just applied for two more this afternoon. However, I don’t feel like I’ve made a bad decision leaving my old job, as it was too far away, I was spending too much time and money on travel and always missed out on social events and such things because of the distance. So I’m limiting myself to a 5-10 mile radius this time, and only applying for jobs that pay more than I was earning previously.

It’ll work out for the best! Don’t point and laugh at me too much, at least I gave it a shot, and I’ll keep doing it until I find something better.

It’s Jay’s birthday on Monday so I’m taking him out for a meal this weekend, as is traditional. I feel a bit bad this time around, though, as he took me somewhere nice for my birthday for posh food and cocktails, and I’m taking him to a regular Indian restaurant where I can use my Tastecard and get 2-for-1 meals :-/ Aahhh, he loves Indian though, it’s his favourite. I hope it’s ok, we’ve never been there before.

On Monday, his actual birthday, we’re going to the German Christmas Market in Birmingham, as is also traditional. Honestly it comes round quicker every year…mulled wine, hot toffee cider, weissbier and German sausages, all under the watchful eye of a creepy animatronic moose head called Chris Moose (get it?) which sings Oh Tannenbaum. Mam and dad are coming to visit next weekend so we get to go again! I think they’ll enjoy it :o)

Tonight is my first roller derby training session since I passed my Safe to Skate and also my first session with my new wheels. They’ve promised us lots of real life derby scenarios so I can see myself falling over a lot. Bring it on! excite (Am I strange because I get excited at the thought of hitting, pushing and being hit and pushed over…?)


Camdengirl November 19, 2014

How about looking for part time work? That way you can do both... Maybe having that bit of security would mean you can continue with the nice customers and be a bit more picky with the PITA (pain in the ass) clients? You really want something you just turn up to and get paid for - you don't want something where you take work home or work late or whatever. It seems a shame to chuck away all your hard work... Could you sell the business on to someone? There's a lot of work in the website, marketing stuff etc.

Bomb Shell Camdengirl ⋅ November 19, 2014

I did apply for a couple of part time jobs, but the problem is that most of my customers want me to walk their dogs at lunch time, as they're out at work all day and want me to split the day up for them. So I'm walking dogs 11am-3pm most days and it's hard to find part-time work that would fit around that.

I think it would be difficult to sell the business; it's not so much the website etc. but I personally have spent time with customer relations, building their trust, getting to know their routines and their dogs' little idiosynchracies etc. and it would be virtually impossible to pass that onto anyone else :o(

Camdengirl Bomb Shell ⋅ November 19, 2014

What about being a childminder?

history of love November 19, 2014

Anyone who points & laughs at you, is a complete idiot. You have put a lot into this, both work, effort and time. Good luck with the job applications :)

Bomb Shell history of love ⋅ November 19, 2014

Ahh thanks! :o)

wintergrey November 19, 2014

I love that singing moose!

Bomb Shell wintergrey ⋅ November 19, 2014

He is so funny! :o)

~Twinkle~ November 19, 2014

Good luck with the applications. Enjoy the Christmas markets! Xx

Babe In Toyland November 19, 2014

I'd never point and laugh. Like you said, you tried it, it wasn't what you expected. I did exactly the same thing with teaching. Would you not fancy doing dog discipline classes or something like that?

Bomb Shell Babe In Toyland ⋅ November 19, 2014

I don't know how good I would be at that, I've never actually owned or trained a dog myself so I think it would take a long time before I could get to the stage where I could teach other people.

Deleted user November 19, 2014

I wouldn't point or laugh, I think you are brave for following your dream and then admitting when it isn't working out x

Lucretia Deleted user ⋅ November 20, 2014

Yup totally agree :) x

Hypnotica November 19, 2014

What wheels did you get? I'm hankering for Heartless Breakers!

Bomb Shell Hypnotica ⋅ November 19, 2014

To be honest, I can't remember! I just bought the first set of second hand 92s that someone was selling because I wanted to try out some harder wheels without spending too much, lol. I'm sure I'll learn more as I go along ;o)

Vee November 23, 2014

Sorry to hear it's not working out with your dog walking. It sounds a good idea to only apply for things that are closer to you that way when you get a job you'll be better off, like you said x x

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.