Friendship in rants

  • Nov. 17, 2014, 6 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I have a friend. We’ve known each other at least 10 years - quite a long time. At first it was a work friendship… but I’d still get a tingle, a buzz, when we spoke on the phone or e-mailed.

Then I noticed: not only were we pretty far apart in age (12 years), but we had different goals. He wanted marriage, family, kids. I do NOT. He wanted slim, pretty, long hair, young (enough to have kids) … all things I AM not.

We get along VERY well - both readers, love moves, dining out, sick humor (he’s more into the “dark side” than I am), politics (he’s more into Israel’s long term battles in the Middle East than I am), museums, etc.

He makes me laugh… a lot.

The problem you ask? We have a “standing” get together two to four times a month on SPECIFIC days. Lately, I wonder and wonder if we’re actually going to get to go out one of the days. I spoke with him last week - we came to an agreement: if we are NOT going to get together, he’ll let me know AHEAD of time so I can make other plans. I shouldn’t have to bug him at 5 p.m. if we’re going out at 6.

AHA! To him it’s a “rule” (and we know how most people react to rules… REBEL); to me it’s common respect (and I am feeling SERIOUSLY disrespected!!). Oh, boy! This is a dilemma.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.