Happy Birthday, Love! in QUOTIDIEN

  • Nov. 14, 2014, 12:39 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

When my boys were little, I would lie beside them at night and would pray with them that the Divine watch carefully watch over their soul-mate - that they would grow strong, generous of self, loving, compassionate, patient, and funny. They all, to this day, remember doing this with me.

And when I began that practice, I began sending thank you cards to my mother-in-law on my husband’s birthday, for having raised the young boy who would some day be my husband, knowing how to love, to be compassionate, kind, gentle, and loving laughter.

Today, my husband would have been 53, and the woman who began the work of molding him into the man I would come to love has gone on before him.

So, in prayer, I give her thanks for what she made possible, and wish David for my sake rather than his, a happy birthday, and a ‘thanks for a lifetime of memories’.


Last updated November 14, 2014


GypsyWynd November 14, 2014

beautiful.

ODSago November 14, 2014

Very sweet, MJ. Such depth you had all along.

Dancing Queen November 14, 2014

Love this. So very sweet.

Deleted user November 16, 2014

Made me cry. I just found you ! So good to see you again !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.