Nojomo 14 in Nojomo 2014

  • Nov. 13, 2014, 5:31 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

*Written on Thursday evening.

Ooh dang, I can’t remember what the prompt was - something about the biggest disappointment maybe?

It’s hard to explain, I have friends who take a pessimistic stance because they don’t want to be disappointed from their optimism. Whereas, I’m optimistic but I don’t have expectations of others or of what may happen, therefore they don’t disappoint me. My optimism lies very much in the direction of the flow, where it’s going is where I go and enjoy the journey. Having expectations without specific plans to realise them, that’s what causes disappointment (obviously not in every case but a lot of it is expectation without telling anyone what you expect from them). Anyway, I digress.

Because I have not harboured, therefore I’ve forgotten, disappointments I shall move on to school dressing up!!

The girls’ school is keen on dressing up which causes some complaints because of the amount it costs to keep buying new outfits. Personally I’ve never bought one but recently Talaia has become more self conscious about what she is seen in. A few weeks ago they had a mad hatters tea party, we had a tabard which we made for a different Alice party a few years ago, I had painted playing card style hearts on it as, when describing the playing card royal, the text states that ‘the children were dressed in hearts’. At 6.15am, on the day of the party, she walked into my bedroom to say that she didn’t want people to laugh at her so she would wear her uniform and tell the teachers that I wouldn’t (yes, wouldn’t) buy her a costume. So, there I was making an Alice costume at 6.30am. She wore her blue school summer dress, a pretty hair band, white socks, school shoes and my apron pinned all over to make it small enough!

Tomorrow is Children in Need day and they can wear either their uniform with pants over their trousers (a la superman) or a super hero costume. Tally was all excited about the pants/trousers combo, she only mentioned today that actually she wanted to be a superhero....

At least it wasn’t tomorrow morning…

So this evening I found her Hallowe’en vampire cloak, black trousers and I got a yellow t shirt from her drawer. I then searched t’internet for a printable batman logo. That was printed onto printable fabric (I always have some around) and sewn onto the t shirt. They won’t have batman masks (Lila already has her batman costume from a previous dress up day for key stage one but we borrowed a mask) but they can live with that.

There is a ‘wear a Christmas sweater day’ in December. At least I’ve been warned in advance.... And she can bloody well wear what we get her!!


Last updated November 14, 2014


thesunnyabyss November 14, 2014

I did not have that problem with Will on 'civvies day' at school, but he's a boy and they don't have quite the same fashion sense as girls, usually, lol,

I like your disappointment answer, very wise lady you are,

have a great day!

Deleted user November 14, 2014

Aunque creo que es la manera más sabia de encarar la decepción, no consigo hacerme pensar como tú... Tengo que hacer un esfuerzo muy grande para ver las cosas con una luz mejor.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.