Seasons Change in Meeting Mr. Jesus Christ

  • Nov. 13, 2014, 1:37 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

First snow began arriving about an hour ago. Already the ground is covered. Flakes fall sideways from the sky, the wind hustling them along. Suddenly the frozen crystals appear as soft as milk weed, falling gracefully while Old Man Winter takes his next breath to push them across the miles.

First times are special. Noting the details, sorting out what is pleasing, and what brings unsettling feelings. Winter has that effect on me. I’m captivated by the snow fall and cover, until something draws my attention to the harsh wind and cold. The finality of warm, sunny days, colorful surroundings is swallowed by thoughts of what’s to come; back damaging efforts to move snow, sometimes so often one never seems to loosen or warm up. Still, a sunny day comes here and there.

Over the weekend I stayed with a girlfriend in a town thirty miles from here. For the most part I was quiet. She had a lot to say. Turned out she was sorting out whether to “keep him or dump him”. Saturday “he” came for dinner and a football game at her place. In five minutes, possibly less, I realized why I’m not dating. All the compromise, tolerating, or having to ignore in order to find the good. Not my cup of tea. “He” is an okay guy, if you aren’t a Christian woman looking for a potential mate.

During those hours “he” was around my checklist of qualities filled. I was unaware I had comprised my personal list. But there it was. Critical discernment of what I see versus what I believe, evidence I am more of who I want to be than I’ve noticed taking place. More than ever I knew should God see fit to place a man in my life, he’ll have to run into me on the path to Jesus. Less than that isn’t an option.

Around the house preparation for winter is near stand still. Though I have found a person willing to haul a storage shed to my yard, working the schedule between driver and workers has proven fruitless. I had hopes for getting things put away before the snow flew. Oh well. Nor have I been able to put the window plastic up. Ran out of money before month. Maybe in December.

Today my sole goal is to finish taking down and cleaning the fish tank. I’m not sure what happened, but death came to my finned friends. Perhaps it was the addition of the Plecostomus? My immediate future doesn’t support having pets to care for so I won’t be restocking for the time being.

Compelled, I read from the Book of Matthew when I woke today. Key points stood out, where a year ago I needed them explained. I’m able to meditate on where I am or need to apply what I’ve read. Overall, I felt good, hopeful and stronger reading today. Sometimes I fail to see where I’ve learned. Going back, reading what I’ve read a dozen times or more, helped me see I’m not stuck as I feel. Stuck is when I’m looking to me, strong is when I’m in God. Sure it ‘s obvious, but I’m human. And still to often fall to leaning on myself. All good lessons.

Time to get on with my day. Hope yours is a good one!


Site Meter

web stats

find my ip


Last updated November 13, 2014


Swirly Girl November 13, 2014

beautifully written

Sister November 13, 2014

There were flurries when I got back from lunch, but eh...it's close to winter time, amen? Compromise. Yeah. I don't want to do that. lol
I sometimes struggle with faith. That was a lie. I all the time struggle. Long story I may share one day.
Take care. Be blessed...

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.