Thoughts and Excitement in Diary

  • Nov. 13, 2014, 5:34 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Thanks for all your lovely and supportive notes on yesterday’s entry. I still haven’t decided what I’m going to do but I said to Jay that if things don’t get any better with the huskies, then I’m going to have to drop them as soon as I get another enquiry from a customer wanting their time slot. I can’t afford to drop them just yet but I’m hoping that one day I’ll be popular enough that I can pick and choose my customers…! In the meantime, I’ve just applied for a job. Another boring office job. It sounds like basically what I was doing before, but with more money, shorter hours and a lot closer to home; 1.4 miles away instead of 25 miles away. So I’d be spending a lot less on petrol, no more sitting stuck in traffic jams, no calling in on snow days as it’s walking distance. No stress of fighting with wolves…! Just boring old 9-5 for decent money. I don’t know, I’ll just see what happens but, at the moment, I’m not enjoying my work and can’t imagine myself doing it for the next 25 years. I think the grass is always greener on the other side, you know?

In better news, I finally passed my Safe to Skate test last night! Six months of trying and of being OH SO VERY CLOSE to those bloody 23 laps in five minutes and I did it! Clean bearings, all of my blood, energy drinks and a proper meal beforehand just gave me that extra push. Also, me, Gemma and Sam were all urging each other as we all started skating at around the same time and have all been OH SO VERY CLOSE for ages, so we were encouraging each other to get our Game Faces on.

And it worked; all three of us passed last night! We all wanted to stay and have a party, but unfortunately our time in the sports hall was up so we all had to just drive home. Sam skipped to the car, Gemma said she had a big grin on her face all the way home, and I had my music on full blast, windows wound down (in November, but I didn’t feel the cold!), dancing and singing all the way home. I’m sure people must have been walking past wondering who that nutter was. We were all buzzing and still chatting about it on Facebook way after midnight, lol.

This is me immediately afterwards.

And all three of us :o)

And a photo Sam posted when she got home, lol!

This means that we can now start scrimming with our team mates; playing roller derby games amongst ourselves. Up until now we’ve just been learning skating skills, now we actually get to start playing derby! We have another test to pass before we can start playing in bouts against other teams, but we’re one step closer! Excited, I can’t wait to get started :o)


Last updated November 19, 2014


Babe In Toyland November 13, 2014

I think the grass is ALWAYS greener! It's only just now, aged almost 42, that I've figured out exactly what it is a want to do with my life. I'm almost there, within sniffing distance! It's very exciting! :)

Lucretia November 13, 2014

Great news about the skating - well done you!
Is your new office job Mon - Fri, or do you have part-time or flexi hours to work around your pet care? Hope it all goes well and keep us posted x

Bomb Shell Lucretia ⋅ November 13, 2014

I've only just applied for it but it would be Monday-Friday 9-5. I'm not enjoying the pet care work or being self-employed as much as I thought I would. A lot of it is the travel aspect, my customers live too far apart and I'm spending too much time driving between them for the sake of £7.00 here and £10.00 there :o(

Bumbly November 13, 2014

Congratulations :)

~Twinkle~ November 13, 2014

Congratulations on passing your safe to skate! X

Vee November 14, 2014

Congratulations on passing the skate test :-D

mutedexposure November 15, 2014

Congrats!! It's been a hard road but you stuck it out and now I can't wait to see you get out there and play. Someone is going to have to take photos so you can share with us!

Bomb Shell mutedexposure ⋅ November 16, 2014

Thanks! I know, I would love to have some photos of me in my kit and actually skating :o)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.