I'm An Idiot in Diary

  • Nov. 12, 2014, 10:22 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I must have been an idiot to think I could do this. Most of my customers are huge, insane, badly behaved dogs that their owners can’t handle. I honestly don’t know why some people keep these animals as pets. They’re not pets, they rule their lives.

I’ve been spoiled with mam and dad’s border collie Meg. She was the most well behaved and lovely dog in the world. She could walk ANYWHERE off the lead, she never ran away and only needed to go on the lead in big crowds or crossing certain bridges that she was scared off. She never begged for food. She never jumped on the furniture. She never complained when she had to be left alone. She always stopped at the side of the road and never went until you told her it was ok. I was naive and thought all dogs could be like this, and that all owners taught them to be like this, which a responsible owner should do. How wrong I was.

Macca, who I’ve had a few times, is a Plummer Terrier and he’s a little nightmare. He chews on anything and everything that he can, jumps all over the furniture, tries to eat your food while you’re eating it and screams like he’s being murdered every time you leave the room for more a millisecond or stop him from chewing up my crocheting.

Yesterday I was supposed to have him from 10am until 6:00 or 7:00pm. His owner said he would ring me when he was on his way home, so me and Jay arranged to go to the cinema to see a film at 8:00pm.

6:45 his owner rings me and I think he’s telling me he’s on his way back. No. “Oh I won’t be back now until 8:30, is that ok?”

No it isn’t ok! We’re going to the cinema! My day rates are for eight hours, you can’t just suddenly change it at the last minute, adding extra time on and assume I don’t have a life! I told him I was going to the cinema and he says bloody hell, there won’t be anyone at home until 8:30. So I say I’m going to have to lock the dog in the summer house and bring him home after I’ve been to the cinema; no way was I cancelling. This is the same bloke who thought he could keep cancelling at the last minute and that I would carry his payment over indefinitely. So I locked in the dog in the summer house and he screams. We come back after the film and he’s still screaming. I’m driving him home at 11:00pm after a 14 hour working day.

Loki and Sabre the huskies. I thought I could handle them with the haltis but I’m beginning to think I can’t. Today they spent the entire walk leaping around like they’d had an electric shock, trying to get the halti collars off. They were getting their paws tangled in it, which made them leap around even more, which made them get their legs tangled up in the leads, and they both ended up in a massive pile of leads and dog, while I waded in to try and and untangle them without either of them escaping. Loki did get the halti off at one point, so I had to try and get it back on with one hand while he’s leaping around and resisting, holding Sabre with the other hand and again trying to stop them both from escaping.

As if that wasn’t bad enough, the second I let them back in the house, they both sprinted upstairs and immediately attacked the house cat. I had been told there was a cat, but their owner said they tend to ignore each other. So, two enormous huskies properly laying into this one cat, biting and growling and scratching from all angles, and I had to try and separate them. I lifted up one dog by his collar and the cat had itself wrapped around his throat. I held onto the collar whilst trying to push the other dog away and hoping the cat would let go. It did eventually, but then just stood where it was instead of running away, while I was still trying to wrestle these two dogs to stop them from leaping onto the cat again. I managed to push them into the bathroom and close the door, whereupon they immediately started scratching at the door to get back out. I opened a bedroom door, even though I’d been told to keep them closed, but I needed to get the cat locked away. It ran into the bedroom, I closed the door and opened the bathroom door to get the dogs downstairs. I eventually managed to wrestle them back downstairs and into their crates.

Sabre had blood all over his face, presumably from the cat scratching him. There was mud all over the landing carpet from the dogs’ paws and my boots, paint all scratched off the bathroom door and then I found a claw on the floor…so the cat has had a claw ripped out of it’s socket. The cat was hiding behind the bed and wouldn’t come out so I have no idea how badly it’s injured.

I called their owner and told her what happened and she said not to worry as it isn’t the first time. Really, I’m glad she isn’t blaming me, but you could have bloody warned me! Also, it really isn’t fair on the cat to have to live in a house with TWO huge dogs that seem hell bent on killing it!

I came home and cried. A lot. I’m a bloody idiot, I don’t know why I thought I could do this. Sure my office job was boring, but never did I have to fight with a pair of dogs that are almost wolves and a cat.

Never did I have to spend the whole day with a dog who screams when he doesn’t get what he want and still working at 11:00pm.

I’m also spending about three hours a day just driving from one appointment to the next. I hate driving around here because there are so many idiots, but also, that’s about three hours a day I’m not earning any money.

I’m getting bored of having to reign in my spending and really think about every penny I spend.

I’ve only been doing it for just over two months and I’m already thinking about throwing in the towel. I haven’t even earned enough money for pay for everything I’ve spent on equipment, insurance, advertising, memberships etc.

I’m a bloody idiot.

Oh, as well as all this, my work phone suddenly stopped working yesterday so I had to buy a new one and have lost all my contacts, text message etc. And my zebra finch died last night.

I’ve got another chance to pass my Safe to Skate test tonight but, judging how the last couple of days have gone, I’m probably going to fall over and break my ankle.

Everything is shit and I’ve got no one to blame but myself.

EDIT Please don’t give me any tips on how to help with the dogs’ behaviour, it isn’t what I’m looking for. I already have qualifications for this but, as they’re not my dogs, there isn’t a lot I can do unless their owners are also consistent with the training, especially with the ones I only have occasionally.


Last updated November 12, 2014


Deleted user November 12, 2014

(^_^)/ random Note'Tee

for Macca & the chewing issue try a treat-ball an chuck Some nice smelly ham/treat inside it a real good boredom booster very handy for being left alone as well...also Dogs feel part of a pack an some"panic"when left alone as they do not Understand why they are no longer with there "pack" try leaving him alone for short periods of time then adding it from 10 mins to 15 min to half hour to an hour( think you get the picture lol) my jaz used to have bad anxiety an would Chew an cry holy murder when out but since doing this over time he dont mind being left x

Bomb Shell Deleted user ⋅ November 12, 2014

Thanks for the tips but he isn't my dog, I only look after him occasionally. I did a course in dog and cat care and all of this was in there :o) From his behaviour, I'm pretty sure he's never been taught to be happy on his own. I don't think there's a lot I can do for him if his owners aren't also going to be consistent.

Deleted user Bomb Shell ⋅ November 12, 2014

ahh i needed to reread an found he wasnt your dog after posting lol please don't give it in best job in the world once you get the hang of it apart from the poops x

Deleted user November 12, 2014

with Loki and Sabre try adog-lead-shock-absorber ( over the last 15 years & 3 dogs over them years ) have found these to be the best type of dog leads out there (unharmful to the pets) an you have brilliant lead control on collars and harness an a harness is better with bigger dogs as you have more control of they main body than if you just use around the necks as they can often slip leads aswell as used there body weight in order to get to whatever they want to get to x

Bomb Shell Deleted user ⋅ November 12, 2014

Thanks, the haltis have reduced the pulling massively, but they hate them, so they go into a proper tizz whenever they pull their mouths closed. I was hoping they would learn how they work over time, if I last that long. The shock absorbers probably wouldn't be much use with these two. As huskies, they know they were born to pull; they are large and strong and they pull HARD. They don't yank suddenly, it's a constant non-stop thing. I think persevering with the haltis is the best way forward for them.

Deleted user November 12, 2014

sorry you're having a hard time xx

Camdengirl November 12, 2014

You know, everyone has moments like this - you used to have days like this in the office too, I'm sure. (Well maybe without the wolves and the blood!!!)

I think generally as you build the business up, you'll figure out a way to build a margin for error into it. You'll know what to look for, you'll know how to handle the clients who want overtime or who have unmanageable dogs. It doesn't sound like anyone would be able to walk these two on their own - they aren't domestic animals. Maybe you could recommend walking them separately or a course of training to their owners, but I suspect these owners just can't be arsed. Anyone who buys one of these dogs is seriously deluded in the first place.

Bomb Shell Camdengirl ⋅ November 12, 2014

I think you're right that they can't be arsed. They have them locked in crates all day, which I suspect is part of the reason they go so mental when they're let out. I honestly don't know why they even have them, I can't see what joy they're getting out of them.

Babe In Toyland November 12, 2014

Aww, pet. Sorry you're having a shit time of it at the moment. I hope things get better very quickly for you.
Hopefully you WILL pass your safe to skate and that will make your day feel a whole lot better.
Love you.

history of love November 12, 2014

You are NOT an idiot - this is just a bad day(s). It will get better and/or the dogs will get used to you or something. It won't always be like today.

Deleted user November 12, 2014

This is why im a cat person. :P

Lucretia November 13, 2014

You're still in the very early stages of your business and you CAN do this. These are teething problems and as you get used to all the issues you'll find ways to manage and in a year' time you'll wonder why you were so upset (really!).

Mr. P's folks use a pet nanny (she charges £11 a walk), and she boosts her income offering pet portraits. God knows how, her photography skills area appalling! But if she can earn extra offering that service so could you - just a thought.

I'm sorry you've had a bad day, but things will get better. I hope you feel better soon (and well done on the Safe to Skate) Xx

Bomb Shell Lucretia ⋅ November 13, 2014

Thanks, I was saying to Jay that, if things don't get any better with the huskies, then I'm going to have to drop them as soon as I get another enquiry from a customer wanting their time slot. I can't afford to drop them just yet but I'm that one day I'll be popular enough that I can pick and choose my customers...!

Yeah I do mention pet photography on my leaflets, but I haven't really pushed it on my website, Facebook page, any other advertising etc. Maybe I should start pushing that more as well.

Vee November 14, 2014

I hope these are just a string of bad days. Don't give up just yet, as you said the customers were picking up after you placed your ad so maybe when business picks up you can just drop the worst pets/customers.

Canadian Lass November 18, 2014

Sorry your having a bad go with it hun :( I am sure its just a rough patch, and will get better! Chin up, you CAN do this! have faith!!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.