Nojomo 12. in Nojomo 2014

  • Nov. 11, 2014, 6:02 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

The most fun I’ve ever had… I think it would be the majority of my life!

I’ve had shit times but the majority have been great, it’s all about looking for the fun.

For example, on Saturday Rich went to Fulham to watch the football while the girls and I stopped at my sister’s flat for the afternoon. As it is a flat, she has no kids and my kids love the phrase ‘iiiiiii’mmmmmm booooooorrrrreeeeed!’ We went out. We got the bus to Hampton court but crossed over the road to go to bushy park instead. Many years ago I visited bushy park a lot both with the kids I was nannying (who I wrote about at the beginning of my diary) and my sister. It’s gorgeous.

We started at the woodland garden with a promise of a visit to the swings afterwards… We’d just left the woodland gardens when the rain started. We were still agreeing to a short visit to the play area but by three quarters of the way there none of us wanted to stay and play! Our jeans were stuck to our legs, hair plastered to our faces and none of us could see out of our glasses!

When we reached the park gate a bus was at the stop - across the road and a couple of hundred meters up. Had Usain Bolt been there he’d have struggled to beat us sodden girls as we sprinted for the bus which was empty and the doors firmly closed. The driver doing his paperwork in the cab looked up and took pity on us but ensured we knew that he wouldn’t be leaving for five minutes. Seriously, five more minutes without the torrential rain would be fine!

We had another stretch across another park at the other end of the bus journey before stripping off in my sister’s hallway. She provided fleeces for the girls to wear and a dressing gown, a gorgeous, soft, fluffy dressing gown, for me to wear.

We played scrabble and ate fish and mash, all wrapped up in sister’s clothes, the sound of her dryer in the background. And it was snuggly and warm and safe.

This afternoon, as the girls and I cycled home from school in light drizzle, tally said that she didn’t like the rain on Saturday so I put it to her in a different way. We got soaked, but were able to get a bus back, we were able to borrow snuggly clothes from aunty J and we were safe and warm. There were a lot of people out in that rain who didn’t have anywhere else to go, who didn’t have homes. We were lucky.

And getting drenched in the rain is always fun when you know you can dry out later.


Last updated November 12, 2014


~Twinkle~ November 12, 2014

:) xx

Life Is For Living November 12, 2014

Exactly. Having a positive outlook is always so much more fun!

Deleted user November 12, 2014

True!! :)

thesunnyabyss November 12, 2014

awesomeness!!

Deleted user November 12, 2014

The beauty of perspective!

The Tranquil Loon November 12, 2014

how I wish I had your outlook at times when I need it most

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.