Southlake Carroll Dragons Hockey the gym class 1998 in Misc. Thoughts opinions, the whole trash can.

  • Nov. 11, 2014, 10:46 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

We moved down to Texas. Southlake, Texas 25 square miles and a great place to live. I am now BNSF management, and I have found rinks and the high school also has a “club” team. My oldest is small for his age, but like a wildcat. He can skate, is fast, and can score. Sets up other players and gets crushed in the corners. He had a temper..and there wasn’t a penalty box in Illinois or Texas he hasn’t sat in. There was a time he was the overall scorer in the league…goals and assists, and what I am not proud of, the overall penalty minute player as well.

Dallas / Ft Worth Southwestern Bell league
This was a school “club” hockey. Rules were, the teams were allowed to wear the team colors and insignia, and play for the school, as long as they did not bring discredit and condemnation to the school. Ben was tough and got reeled in a bit, but grew up in this atmosphere. He was used as a utility player. He could center, play left or right wing, or be used as an offensive defense man. The coach used him in all areas. He thrived in that, but his numbers went down, but it is not all about goals and assists. No I in team.

 photo 002_zps78b0f7aa.jpg
Home Whites

 photo 003_zps656e37cb.jpg
Road Greens WE wore the insignia on our chests the football players on the helmets

 photo 004_zps6f1ba9dc.jpg
Back with name and number

Gym Class 1998 late January:

I get told about this, when he gets home from school.
“Hey we played indoor hockey at school today”. “Yeah really, where was the ice?’‘ “Nah, they said it was too cold to be outside”. “It was 55 degrees”. “Well, they don’t do cold here well”. When is 55 cold? Okay, I get it and understand. I wore a coat maybe 6 times in the five years I was in North Texas.

“We played indoor gym hockey”. “Did ya? were you behaved and not sent away?” “No went really well”.

Southlake Carroll High School Here is the tale:

The Gym coach said “Pick teams and we will play a lil indoor hockey”. This is a co-ed class, and my son presents this. Ben says… “I’ll pick the two other guys off my hockey team, and this lil girl we don’t know as our goalie. We’ll take on the rest of the class”. The coach says go for it.

They strap this gal into her equipment, and say don’t worry they wont ever touch you. Trust us…

“We bent those stick blades, and wreaked havoc. A shot never touched our Goalie!!”. Those three dominated the rest of the class. There was a big defensive lineman that played for the football team. He was the Goalie for the other side.
He told the hockey players, “Goddamn you guys are animals and it was just three of you”. Southlake Carroll hockey…3 time Texas state champions …


woman in the moon November 12, 2014

I hear a proud dad.
Say, what was the school symbol - the fire breathing, lightning bolt alligator/dragon thing?

Brakeshoe Bob woman in the moon ⋅ November 12, 2014

Side note
I am retired by one year I have an old Southake Carroll Jacket on. At King Soopers grocery a young man confronts me. You from Southlake ? Yes ... Former..I know that logo, toughest skilled team I played against in North Texas

Brakeshoe Bob November 12, 2014

A Dragon fire breathing lightning Texas

MageB November 12, 2014

How old is he now? :)

Brakeshoe Bob MageB ⋅ November 13, 2014

28

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.