2 in nojomo 2013

  • Nov. 2, 2013, 2:29 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

What day from my life would I repeat over again in a groundhog day stylee?

Tough, tough deal. I mean, I've had almost 43 years on this earth. That is 15,625 days (give or take - I'm not sure exactly how many leap years there have been) to choose from.

Seriously, I have to choose ONE of those amazing days.

I had considered the birth of one of my babies and the actual birth was incredible, but I don't think I'd do that pain on a daily basis, and there's that deal with my body not giving up the placenta. Seeing the surgeon pull a glove up to his elbow is enough to make you sing supercallerfragerlisticexpialidoscious very loudly.

And having to have an epidural after giving birth naturally.

There are the early days of being a mum. The beautiful bubble that tally and I lived in, I didn't want to enter the real world for a loooong time. But there isn't one day, there are several months all blurring into one. It was an amazing time.

There was my year in Florida. Nights dancing in clubs to Nirvana and Rage Against the Machine, weekends at the beach with my friends, watching surfers while music played in the bars behind. Cycling along the back roads, all summer, loving the heat. Swimming in the pool in the backyard. nd of course the baby, KC. My first true love. Watching her grow up was incredible.

I could go back further. Being a teenager in the 80's, foreign exchanges to Germany and sunny pop music. Recording the charts every week and writing Suzanne Vega lyrics onto pretty writing paper before sticking them to the ceiling in my room (it was a dormer room with sloping ceilings).

But what about the 70's, my childhood. Playing in the backgarden. Handstands and tig off ground, climbing the apple trees in the orchard and sneaking upstairs in the stable - we weren't allowed up there but we could fit under the door. When the orchard flooded and we put on our wellys and splashed in it, except that time in the summer when we swam and kayaked in it. The big freeze when we skidded along the ice that froze over the flood, and when we walked to town with mum along the canal that ran behind our house because of the freeze.

All the birthdays that my mum made so special, all the Christmases with all their traditions.

Nah, my life to this point, has been far too wonderful to pick one day to repeat over and over again.


~Twinkle~ November 02, 2013

Lovely entry :) x

Deleted user November 02, 2013

I am so happy for you, all those precious memories you hold! And here's for more to come! :-)

salty*dog November 03, 2013

This made me smile. I'm much the same, can't pick one day. :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.