Nojomo 11 in Nojomo 2014

  • Nov. 11, 2014, 11:47 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

The most terrifying moment of my life…

I don’t, as a general rule, get terrified. I’m a pretty damned rational person. To be terrified I would actually have to be in a terrifying situation, not a worrying one nor even scary but downright, out and out terrifying.

There are two that I can think of, on different sides of a scale.

In yesterday’s entry I mentioned that I don’t walk through fields of cows. I have walked through many fields of cows in my life until August 1999 when I was out cycling. I saw a short cut through a field, it was signposted as a right of way so I got off the bike and walked through the field. One cow broke off from the rest and headed diagonally towards me, looking to cut me off as I carried on. I didn’t want to run and encourage it to charge as I had a lot of field to cross still. As I almost reached the other side it picked up speed, galloping at me. I don’t remember how I got myself and my bike over the stile, just that it reared up on it’s back legs, only three feet from me.

With the fence between us, I turned to find the owner of the next field hadn’t respected the rules of country Rights of Way, allowing his crops and a huge quantity of nettles to grow across it.

Very angry cow v nettles = very stung legs!

The other. That was the midnight phone call and the terror which existed in what felt like a lifetime between being told that my parents had been in a car accident and finding out that my mum hadn’t made it.

The emotions afterwards cannot be described, but those few moments were pure terror of the unknown.


Last updated November 11, 2014


Deleted user November 11, 2014

My heart hurt when you wrote about the car wreck. I am so sorry about your Mom. She raised a wonderful woman in the time you had her.

The Tranquil Loon November 11, 2014

Whoa, those are hard times

Deleted user November 11, 2014

Jeez. And I usually have cows as very peaceful animals... Thank God the only thing you have to complain after that adventure is the nettles, phew.

Abrazos No me puedo ni imaginar lo que sentiste al recibir esa llamada. Eres una persona muy valiente.

ermentrude Deleted user ⋅ November 12, 2014

Las vacas son hijas de putas! ;-) x

Deleted user ermentrude ⋅ November 12, 2014

Jajajaja xD Lo tendré en cuenta!! :D :D :D

~Twinkle~ November 11, 2014

Xxx

thesunnyabyss November 12, 2014

seeing a cow rear up would be terrifying,

those late night calls are always the worst,

big hugs

Deleted user November 12, 2014

Big hugs xxx

Deleted user November 13, 2014

Yikes! I never figured cows for murderous. I guess that one had a beef with you. Ba-DA-bum TCH!

Seriously, though, the night of the accident must have been agonizing for you. I'm sorry you lost your mom in such a dreadful manner.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.