NJM10 in NoJoMo 2104

  • Nov. 10, 2014, 4:07 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

10.What’s the most outrageous thing you’ve ever done?

Oh. I guess that depends upon your definition of outrageous, wouldn’t it?

I’ve spent my entire adult life making decisions based on what would be best for someone else. I’m not complaining. That’s just what happens when you start having children before you are an adult. That responsibility colors every aspect of your life, until those children are adults. So, yes. All my adult life, before I’ve made a decision, I’ve had to figure out what was best for someone else before deciding what was best for me. So. Doing just exactly what I want to, when I want to, without regard to someone else’s needs first, is pretty outrageous for me. I’ve never done it.

Except for that once.

Very close to my birthday a few years ago, the chance popped up out of nowhere to hop on a plane and spend a weekend doing just exactly what I wanted to do. It would have been a shame not to, because all the required pieces for that weekend fell into place effortlessly. Anna was with family, since school was still out for Christmas break. I thought for sure that I wouldn’t be able to find affordable airfare on such short notice, but decided to look, anyway, just for grins. Lo and behold, airfare was actually a bit below budget! Without a minute’s hesitation, I bought my tickets. A few days later, I threw some clothes into a bag and flew off for a weekend that…well. I’ll always remember it with a smile.

Thank you. :-)


Last updated November 10, 2014


Panini Queen November 10, 2014

smiles. I agree...good for you!!

Wayfaring_Stranger November 11, 2014

Outrageous! as a certain superhero would say on a certain tv show
:-D

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.