More Skating, More Work and Christmas in Diary

  • Nov. 10, 2014, 2:57 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I failed my Safe to Skate test yet again. So close on laps yet again. There’s another try on Wednesday and I’m determined to smash it this time.
- I’ve cleaned my bearings so should have a smoother ride.
- I probably shouldn’t have donated blood the day before, it can’t have helped my energy levels.
- I’m going to eat some proper energy fuel before I go; pasta, flapjacks, bananas, Lucozade etc.
- I’ve asked if we can have fewer people on the track. There were SEVEN people on the track and I spent half my time trying to get round them, which isn’t a very economical way of skating; I need to skate the diamond! Really there shouldn’t be more than three people on the track at any given point.

These little changes should hopefully all add up to just give me that final final push! There’s me, Sam and Gemma who have all failed on laps several times, and we’re all so close, so we’ve been egging each other on. Emi passed the test and she’s only been going for two months! She’s a proper natural and is going to be a great jammer because she’s so small.

Jay put his hands around my waist the other day and said I’ve shrunk. So I do some measurements and find, as well as losing seven pounds off my weight, I’ve lost about four inches off my waist; I’m back down to 28”! All the extra roller derby and dog walking is paying off :o)

I took Loki and Sabre the huskies out again, trying them with the halti collars. They are the best invention in the history of the world! The dogs hate them. It doesn’t hurt them, but it peeves them off when they pull on the lead and the halti closes their mouths. Loki hasn’t quite made the connection between these events yet, he’s still pulling and goes a bit crazy every time his mouth is forced closed, but Sabre has it figured out. I’m sure they’ll get used to them soon enough. They better had do, there’s no way I’m going back to walking them without them now!

I’m getting new enquiries a few times a week now, ever since I put an advert up on yell.com. Each month is busier than the last. I haven’t had to dip into my savings yet and this month I should earn enough to pay my half of the bills and avoid dipping into savings again. I also have my first confirmed booking for 2015 which is exciting; I’m going to have to buy a 2015 diary!

I’ve sorted out what I’m doing for Christmas as well. I’m going up to visit my family on Friday 19th December after work, staying the weekend and taking Monday 22nd of work, coming back early Tuesday morning so I can go to work in the afternoon.

I’m glad I started my Christmas shopping a few months ago as I’m going to have to cut back on spending a lot this year. Everyone has at least one present so far, which I’m pleased about. I’m going to be a lot more creative this time around. Carry on using Amazon vouchers that I earned from doing surveys plus more hand made gifts. I’m going to knit mini heart cushions to make lavender bags with the lavender I’ve picked from our garden, quite a few people are getting my hand-crocheted head bands and I’ve picked 8lb of green tomatoes from our plants; I’m going to make a big batch of chutney this week, which will also be given out as Christmas gifts. I hope everyone appreciates my hand made offerings :o)

Boring entry I’m afraid, I keep talking about the same things but I just felt like writing.


Last updated November 10, 2014


Babe In Toyland November 10, 2014

Ah brilliant. We'll have to decide what day we're having Christmas....maybe we could have dinner here! Mam and dad hardly ever come here...

Bomb Shell Babe In Toyland ⋅ November 10, 2014

Would there be room at your for all eight of us? Would be a bit crowded, but I bet John makes an amazing Christmas dinner!

Babe In Toyland Bomb Shell ⋅ November 10, 2014

We have a big table and a little table for the girls. Might have to bring some chairs, lol!

Canadian Lass November 10, 2014

glad the haltis worked!

Camdengirl November 10, 2014

On the Yell advert, you should be able to do a pay per click thing as well - saves quite a bit of dosh and gets you to the top of the listings!

Haltis are great.

Lucretia November 11, 2014

Well done on the weight loss, it's always best when it's lifestyle related (and a surprise) x

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.