Head-Hunted in QUOTIDIEN

  • Nov. 9, 2014, 3:02 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Much has happened in my life, besides grieving. There has been growth; a definite up-tick in confidence; boldness; acceptance of my strength; sensuality; sexuality; a clearing of the mind; a desire for MORE…of everything. I have begun Pac-manning my life - eating it up as it comes along, and doing away with ghosts.

As a result, I’m noticing some changes in how people in both my business and my personal life are responding to me.

In January, a head-hunter friend took me out to breakfast after reading the article I’ve included here, and interviewed me to be a part of her Corporate Training group. She has apparently been watching me for some time.

Things at work have been changing, too. There have been firings, and dissatisfaction with the type of people our security company has been hiring. My push to define my job (rather than being defined by it), my insistence that attention be paid to what I had to offer, and some frank talks with the manager have finally begun to pay off. After my recent move to the security executive building where my methods were displayed before the Client Security Big Wigs, I was moved into a Trainer position. New Hires will come through me, will receive Concierge training - and I am expected to provide an evaluation as to whether or not I believe they are suited to the task.

The CEO and COO of our company flew in from Chicago and Philly, for a meeting with our client’s head of security and our account managers. While they waited for the appointed time, they took a moment to speak with me, and then they were off to their meeting.

A few hours later, the CEO came back to my post, shook my hand and said, ‘MJ - I hear you’re the star on campus.’ I smiled and said, ‘I hope someone important told you that.’ He smiled back and said, ‘Someone important is telling you that. Keep up the good work’, and he left the building.

Then the COO approached me. She liked what I was telling her about my training methods and what I consider to be the most important lesson: To not allow the job to define us…but to define our job. After a little more chat, she reached in to her briefcase, and pulled out an Achievement Award card ($50), and told me she wants to make sure I’ll be around for a while, and that our company needs more people like me. You could have knocked me over with a feather. I was floored.

Last week, two recruiters from corporate came for a meeting with our account manager. It was almost a repeat. I met them in the lobby (as is my job), greeted them as I would any other person who comes through my door. They came back from the meeting, and the head honcho recruiter shakes my hand and says, “MJ - would you mind if I came back to sit and talk with you while you work?’ I looked over to my account manager who was standing next to me. She nodded, and so I told him I would be happy for him to do so.

Yesterday, during a mandatory meeting - I was pointed out as being the standard the company had their minds set on.

There has been a turn around in my life…and though I know this sounds like a bunch of bragging, I’m really trying to report the phenomenal changes I’m seeing in my life. I’m amazed at what power self-confidence can have in a person’s life.

Anyhow....Thanks for reading.

White Glove Customer Service…Begins With and Depends on
Attitude
As an employee, you’ve either completed the White Glove Customer Service (WGCS) training through EDGE, or you’re about to, because you are prepared to do what it takes to satisfy your employer’s demands, and needs. That is a highly prized, and commendable attitude!
Unfortunately, as we settle into our respective posts we sometimes find that the ‘commendable’ starts to slip away, leaving little more than an attitude and/or complacency which leaves much to be desired. We know we’ve reached that point when the countdown until the end of our shift begins at approximately the same moment our alarms wake us in the morning. Been there, done that? It makes for long shifts, long weeks, and encourages a cancerous growth of poor work ethic and apathy.
Fortunately, this isn’t a hopeless condition! As humans, we have this amazing power to choose, not only how we act, but also how we react to our environment. It truly is as simple as that. Down times are boring? Change a position. Do something new! Clients seem unresponsive or unfriendly? Turn up the volume of a positive attitude. Stand when an employee or guest approaches; smile up into your eyes; make an effort to learn their names; reach out beyond yourself to meet the needs of your client—as if your job depended on it.
As you work your way through WGCS training, please take your time, keep careful notes, and envision what implementing that training would look like on you! Use it, and those talents HR saw in you, to OWN your job, and you’ll shorten those seemingly endless days. You can, within the confines of your post orders, define your position, and the value of what it is that you do, to both the internal and external client!
Let us encourage you to make use of our ‘White Glove Customer Service’ training resources to carry you beyond the simple fulfillment of a requirement, and on to sculpting who you are now into the professional, and productive person of your future!


aussie_powers November 10, 2014

well done

Noodlebugs! November 10, 2014

You are an inspiration, in many regards. :)

Deleted user November 16, 2014

Wonderful ! You should be very proud !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.