NoJoMo 8 -- More About Llamas in The Common Room

  • Nov. 8, 2014, 7:42 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Prompt –What’s the worst thing you’ve ever done?

It’s also, probably, the best thing I’ve ever done, which is to conceal my short stint in the Marine Corp from Husband, who despises all military types. He calls them parasites. This is probably sour apples as none of the services would have him on a bet… and he tried them all just after high school

I wouldn’t have married him if I’d known about this earlier.
___________-

Who knew that a little list with “order a llama” would engender such various comments.

I really have ordered an actual llama. It’s been kind of an ambition. I started with rabbits, did a flock of chicks, working my way up to the llama.

These are from Heifer International. The llama will go to a family in the Bolivian Andes. It will be used for transport. It’s hair will be woven into warm cloth, which may be used by the family or sold. It’s manure will be put on their crops, increasing them up to 150%. Children will drink its milk. Another family in the village will get an opposite sex llama. Each family pledges to give away the first increase. The second goes to the owner of the male llama and athe third to the owner of the female. After that, they make their own arrangements.

.The ecology of the Andes is fragile. Llama grazing habits are friendly to that ecoloogy.

Why llamas? I like llamas. If one overloads a llama (according to the llama’s opinion) it just lays down and won’t get up until some of the load is taken away. Llamas are peaceful animals. People should try that. I’ve not heard that Bolivian Andes people are other than peaceful. I don’t feel all that charitable to people who aren’t .

The organization is not sponsored by a religious group.

This has worked well in some other villages. Hopefully it will work again.

My Holiday gift to myself – a llama..

Blessed Be


Deleted user November 08, 2014

Back when we lived in rural Arizona a couple hours above the Mexican border, Tom was working on the car one day. We had a 10-acre parcel of land back then. He was laying on his back working on something underneath the car when he saw a large animal out of his peripheral vision. His first thought was, "Wow, that's a big dog." Then he realized it was a llama. I have heard that they like to spit on people.

woman in the moon November 08, 2014

I get the Heifer International flyer and always think of giving something. Maybe this is the year to give myself a similar gift.

MageB November 09, 2014

Wonderful gift, thanks. Yes, I doubt my decision to join the army, but I am very grateful for the friends I made and the GI Bill.

I'm an Okking Fool November 09, 2014

Heifer International is such a wonderful organization. I know they'll appreciate your gift so much!

Everything Good Rebecca November 10, 2014

I love the llama gift and will tell my daughter about it as she keeps calling me "Llama" and might like the gift idea. I know i do!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.