park art in keeping it postive

  • Nov. 7, 2014, 9:16 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

http://www.dnainfo.com/new-york/20141106/flatiron/shimmering-metal-canopy-hover-over-madison-square-park?utm_source=Harlem&utm_campaign=753ccd75e7-Mailchimp-NYC&utm_medium=email&utm_term=0_84420d89c2-753ccd75e7-132330717

http://www.nytimes.com/2014/11/07/arts/design/the-glow-coming-to-madison-square.html?_r=0

I don’t know which link will work - but there will be a metal canopy over Madison Square Park in Manhattan this coming spring. Sounds lovely. I wonder if, in the rain, we’ll hear the sound effects also.


ermentrude November 07, 2014

Pretty!

woman in the moon November 07, 2014

Both links work. Sounds lovely.

Darcy0207 from OD woman in the moon ⋅ November 08, 2014

I wasn't happy about the "gates" in Central Park, but this does look very nice. And it's a one-bus trip from my area.

woman in the moon Darcy0207 from OD ⋅ November 08, 2014

I just read that 57% of appartments between Park and Fifth Avenues and 56th and 59th streets are vacant at least ten months a year. Also that more than half residential sales in Manhatten are cash deals. What is going on? Foreign investments, I bet. Or purchases by the very very rich.

I liked the idea of Christo's gates - they were very orange, weren't they? This does look prettier. Maybe a smaller scale installation?

Darcy0207 from OD woman in the moon ⋅ November 09, 2014

I don't travel on the east side very often - if ever. The last time I was there, I was astounded at the number of stores that were vacant. I knew there were vacant stores in my area - NOT the high priced part of town - but didn't realize that it was all over.

Christo's gates were orange. Eh... I know I am in a minority, but they didn't move me.

Although there is rent control and rent stabilization in residential rentals, there is NONE in business rentals and the landlords sometimes jack up the price. There's also "fair market value". And since the market has dropped, some landlords prefer an apartment/business to be vacant rather than get less money. I think it's foolish, but then I am not a landlord.

woman in the moon Darcy0207 from OD ⋅ November 09, 2014

I thought the 57% vacant meant that they were owned or rented by people who lived elsewhere but it could be interpreted either way.
Christo had a thing about fabric. This looks more substantial.

Darcy0207 from OD woman in the moon ⋅ November 09, 2014

vacant usually means that no one has moved in. Not like my apartment that's "vacant" in NYC when I am in San Diego and vice versa.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.