Pump, Dump, Repeat in Everything Else

  • Nov. 5, 2014, 5:05 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I have been participating in something of a “pump & dump”. I pump out a couple thousand words and then I just delete it all. So far, three times this week. It seems that something always interrupts me and by the time I get back to writing, I just can’t seem to get in the flow again and everything I have written sounds trite.

I am in that early month slump. I get so bored with the monotony of the first week’s work that I tend to try and find ways to not be here. I have a couple of projects, but unless I can devote a couple of days to the work, there is no point in working on them. I need time in bulk to get them done and not lose the momentum. On the other hand, if I tackle my ap all at once, I am done in a day and then spend the next few days dicking around with little batches. Plus there is no hurry to get the ap done and checks printed because even if they are signed in a timely manner, I still have to wait to mail them until our state payments come in and it is payroll week, so ap gets pushed to the bottom of the pile. Don’t get me wrong, I want to get paid, but I don’t enjoy holding checks and avoiding vendor phone calls. I remember, fondly, the days when I could just mail them all at once and it was awesome. Now I have to prepare a report and stagger the mailing of checks.

I am totally bummed out right now because I just balanced my accounts and money is just a little tight this month. I am still paying for a ton of stupid spending, but now that I have recognized it, I have a plan to get this shit under control.

The afternoons go so slow that it makes me wonder if our office is in some sort of time vortex or whatever it would be, I am not totally up on my nerd terms. Also, every afternoon about this time it tends to get super dark on this side of the building. I am talking charcoal colored skies and I have to turn on my desk light (I don’t use overhead fluorescent lighting…ever). It’s kind of eerie and nothing ever comes of it, no storm, nothing.

I am 100% caught up on every program that I am watching this season. I have to say that I was looking forward to Gracepoint on Fox, but after binging on the first five (of ten) episodes this weekend, I have to say that it is a complete let down. I thought it would be more riveting, and it is not. So far there really hasn’t been anything outstanding this year. I miss shows like 24, that kept you engaged because you never knew what was going to happen. It seems everything this year is predictable and I hate that I am never shocked. Also, we are just over a month into the season and already “fall finale” dates are creeping up. What the actual hell is with this shit? So we can see syrupy Christmas movies & the same old cartoons over and over? So half naked women can walk on a runway “modeling” underwear no real person could ever afford or realistically wear? So that there can be another string of country music awards shows? I think I will be watching a lot of hockey and doing a lot of reading the next couple months.

Speaking of reading, I have finished a couple of books. First was Bad Blood by John Sandford, a Virgil Flowers book. It was good, very good. The subject matter a little disturbing, but definitely a very real scenario. Sandford is a master second, in my book, to Ed McBain.

After Bad Blood, I read Mistress by James Patterson & David Ellis. I really enjoyed it. The main character was so interesting and I loved his internal dialogue and “trivia”. The story moved along nicely and had a very rewarding conclusion.

Currently I am reading Shock Wave, another Sanford, Flowers series book. Moving at a nice pace as well. I don’t make enough time to read, or not as much as I would like, but I am making the effort to read every day.

I am also fully back into knitting. I have several projects on the needles with the hope to get them done in time to gift this Christmas. I am sure to get two of them done within the next week and by the end of the month I plan to have another one done (it is a bit larger project). I am hoping to dedicate some serious time on my vacation to knitting.

Did I mention vacation? I am taking the last week of November off. It is my me time. I had hoped to get away for a couple of days, but without knowing what the weather situation will be, I am not comfortable making those plans. Also, the price of hotel rooms still seems a bit high to me. Plus, I really wanted to go north this time and the highways will be treacherous if the weather turns between now and then. The drive is beyond gorgeous, but is not something I really want to subject myself to when I am trying to get away for relaxation. Oh, but the drive during this time of year would be absolutely enchanting, romantic, picture perfect. I would want to stop and photograph it and take it all in. Maybe I can get away in February for a day or two, take my personal days after the rush of W2s and 1099s is over.

I am cooking my first Thanksgiving dinner this year. I am not doing a traditional fare, instead opting for a casserole, veggie, salad dinner. It is a very small family dinner (maybe four people). I am hoping to have time to make goodie treat bags for the guests to take home & little “thank you” cards. Mom and I are going to attend a Thanksgiving dinner/lunch on the 16th with my Aunt at her church. She runs the day care, has for over 30 years and she invited us last year and it was absolutely lovely and they are so welcoming of everyone. I am more than happy to make a donation to that church than to pump more money into the Catholic system to cover the cost of covering up priest/bishop/cardinal rape and abuse. I really don’t identify with my “religion” anymore. I cannot support a church that condemns love when their past is rife with torture, murder and rape. I have beliefs and faith and I am happy to leave the archaic preaching of Catholicism behind.

Well, time to start my daily hour long cleanup & prep for tomorrow.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.