Comments - now with twice the awesome! in Site Updates

  • Nov. 1, 2013, 10:43 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I revamped the entry page for commenting. First of all, the Leave a Comment form is now at the bottom of the page. If you don't feel like scrolling through all the comments to get to it, never fear. There's a Leave Comment link at the top of the comments list to skip to the end of the page.

So here's where things get REALLY COOL (assuming this all works as it should)....

Leaving a comment will no longer refresh the page. It will simply scroll to the appropriate spot, and the new comment will fade in as if by magic.

Trust me, when you start replying to comments on your entry en masse, you are going to LOVE this.

Heck, you could even leave running commentary on a Youtube video while it continues to play. The possibilities BOGGLE THE MIND.

EDIT: Here's something to listen to while you leave comments that magically fade in. It helps set the mood.


simple mind November 01, 2013

Quick test...

Echo simple mind ⋅ November 01, 2013

I wanna see it fade!

Indigo November 01, 2013

:)

SilentCreatures November 01, 2013

magic fade!!! woohoo

Deleted user November 01, 2013

THANK YOU for the not refreshing comment/addition of scrolling to the comment thing! I think about this every stinkin' time I leave a comment and have to scroll back down to read other comments made or whatever. Yay! Long live Simple Mind!!!

simple mind Deleted user ⋅ November 01, 2013

Yeah, hopefully it's one more thing to make it easier to interact in the comments section without it being a chore!

Echo November 01, 2013

oooooh!

Deleted user November 01, 2013

Hey, that fade-in is snazzy! Almost as cool as Star Trek doors!

simple mind Deleted user ⋅ November 01, 2013

Whoosh

Deleted user November 01, 2013

You AJAX'd it?

simple mind Deleted user ⋅ November 01, 2013

I did!

Deleted user November 01, 2013

Sweet. It works great. You're a genius, man.

simple mind Deleted user ⋅ November 02, 2013

With the help of jQuery of course. ;-)

Deleted user simple mind ⋅ November 02, 2013

jQuery is the shit. It should be a standard part of Javascript.

Cat Mommy November 01, 2013

Shiny!

simple mind Cat Mommy ⋅ November 02, 2013

Groovaayyy.

Teflon Superhero November 01, 2013

Running commentary? Oh...my bookmarks are going to HATE me!! LOL

simple mind Teflon Superhero ⋅ November 02, 2013

Have fun! :-D

TellTaleHeart November 01, 2013

I am only commenting so I can see the magic...

TellTaleHeart November 01, 2013

LIKE WHOA.

simple mind TellTaleHeart ⋅ November 02, 2013

Keanu couldn't hsve said it better.

Deleted user simple mind ⋅ November 02, 2013

Ha!

Leanne 🌈 November 01, 2013

What sorcery is this..............

simple mind Leanne 🌈 ⋅ November 01, 2013

The Dark Art of ajax!

Naiad November 01, 2013

Test...

Naiad November 01, 2013

LIKE MAGIC!

simple mind Naiad ⋅ November 02, 2013

It's an ILLUSION!

Finn November 02, 2013

Wow, nice!

•kitkat• November 02, 2013

Awesome!

Wicked Nights November 02, 2013

OK scooch over, I wanna see this fade in stuff...

Wicked Nights November 02, 2013

Well beam me up Scotty!

simple mind Wicked Nights ⋅ November 02, 2013

We can't take much more cap'n, she's breakin apart!

Wicked Nights simple mind ⋅ November 02, 2013

It was always amazing how many times Scotty said that & yet still pulled that miracle out of his pocket. Actually met James Doohan a couple times & it always threw me off not hearing him speak with a Scottish accent.

simple mind Wicked Nights ⋅ November 02, 2013

Heh, I didn't realize the actor wasn't really Scottish.

james ensor November 02, 2013

The fade-in is very cool!

simple mind james ensor ⋅ November 02, 2013

Materialize! (I'm still having fun with it myself)

Life Is For Living November 02, 2013

Totally geeking out over the magic fade in. Awesome!

Teflon Superhero November 02, 2013

DUN NA NA NUUUYHHHH DUU NUH NUUUUHH!!!!

Teflon Superhero November 02, 2013

COMMENTARY COMMENCE

Teflon Superhero November 02, 2013

oh well this is just badass...

Nunzio November 02, 2013

Fade bitch, f - a - d - e - !

donut November 02, 2013

DOODOODOODOO. DOODOODOODOODOO.

Deleted user November 02, 2013

Had to listen to Europe. Flashbacking to the 80s has commenced.

Deleted user November 02, 2013

Cool :-)

kalakri November 02, 2013

Oooh, now I see the Leave a Comment option. Scrolling was no fun! Thanks!! :D

Brooksee November 02, 2013

Still had to scroll to the bottom of the page to leave this comment, regardless though it is still insanely easy leaving comments and entries via my phone, which is my primary resource for writing and following fellow PB'ers. Thank you for making it so user friendly in mobile format!

simple mind Brooksee ⋅ November 02, 2013

You're welcome! Websites that aren't mobile-friendly are destined to die off like the dinosaurs, in my humble opinion. :)

hoops November 02, 2013

Yeah. Loving that new feature. I wasn't a fan of always having to scroll back when replying to multiple notes. It was a minor annoyance, but an aggravating one. This new fix is the hippo's balls!

(hippo's balls is a new thing I'm trying out. it means good.)

simple mind hoops ⋅ November 02, 2013

I like it! Prosebox, now with the hippo's balls!

Silverstar46 November 04, 2013

Yeah, I'm so glad I read this entry because I was getting kind annoyed scrolling to the bottom everytime I wanted to write a note and now I can just click the link I really didn't notice.

Hmm.. Maybe you could make the Leave a Comment bigger or in a bright color or something? I'm thinking for newbies that join in a month and haven't read this entry they'll be as annoyed as I if they're also as unobservant as I apparently am! haha

simple mind Silverstar46 ⋅ November 04, 2013

Yeah, it is pretty subtle... looks more like a label than a link. I could definitely improve that!

edna million November 04, 2013

Oh, very nice!

read.my.lips November 04, 2013

Love!

EvequeFou November 21, 2013

Minor nitpick: The number of comments doesn't update when this effect happens. :-)

EvequeFou December 26, 2013

...and I just noticed you fixed that. Good job!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.