Nojomo 5 in Nojomo 2014

  • Nov. 5, 2014, 12:48 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

This is supposed to be a letter which apologises to someone about not telling them something…

I’m far too much of a gob shite for that to be an issue!!

So, this isn’t about something I wish that I had told someone, this is about what I wished I asked someone.

Tally has a phrase that she uses often, it starts with ‘tell me a story about when you were…‘ on to which she adds an age. When she asks I have to work out what year it was and what teacher I had at school/which college I was at/what job I was doing in that era so that I can then link a memory to it.

Sometimes I think ‘oh no, not one if these!’ but I always try to think of a story to tell her because I don’t want her to stop asking. Sometimes I tell her to ask me again later but I love that she asks.

You see, I never asked. I have snapshots of my mum’s life but not a lot and I wish I had asked, I wish I understood more of her childhood. I think she would tell us things that would offer advice or help eg. my sister was a very conscientious student and my mum told her a story that she never told me (I would nothing if i could away with it - it wasn’t relevant to me). You see, my mum’s degree was in German language and as part of the degree she was supposed to attend university in Germany for a year. She actually attended for a day and discovered it was as dull as dish water. The next day she went to an orphanage and offered her services as a volunteer. She worked there for her year instead of going to university, thoroughly enjoyed herself, learned a heck of a lot more than she would have in the sterile classroom and only went back to take exams.

I know that she broke her arm as a child because she was balancing on a toy horse with wheels, she reached out to get something off a shelf and fell. I know this because I was doing something similar with a toy dog once!

There are several stories and I love them but I wish I knew more. I wish I had asked.

If you ever want to know something about someone just ask, you never know if you’ll get to speak to them again.


Deleted user November 05, 2014

Yep, no me gusta el tema de hoy porque sinceramente no tengo nada que me pese en el corazón! He leído gente que también escribe cartas a la gente que le hizo daño, pero yo también he hecho eso en el pasado, así que no tengo ningún tipo de carta para escribir!

Creo que tu consejo es muy bueno :) y tu mamá fue una persona super interesante. También me gustaría poder saber más de ella... Pero como no se puede cambiar el pasado, lo mejor es vivir en el presente y contar todas las historias y lecciones posibles :) abrazos

ElvenAssassin November 05, 2014

Truth! xx

~Twinkle~ November 05, 2014

Xxx

thesunnyabyss November 05, 2014

I wish I had asked more too, what a neat idea for the girl's,

have a great day!

Deleted user November 05, 2014

I wish I had asked my grandparents more. I know quite a bit but they had some great stories !!

Deleted user November 05, 2014

Wonderful entry !!

Deleted user November 06, 2014

So true! Maybe your girls ask you because you're so forthcoming and sharing. I wish I knew more about my mom's childhood too, but she just didn't talk about it much, and didn't share that way, the way I would. Maybe it's a generational thing? Still... a wise wish, and I love that T asks you that!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.