2014 Midterms: voter suppression, and why my favorites don't win. in Talk Radio

  • Nov. 4, 2014, 5:14 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I voted in the midterms today but I didn’t get a sticker. As of writing the polls are probably still open near you so if you haven’t voted today, find your fucking polling place and do so.

People who feel like their votes don’t matter in the general elections when there are only two blockheads for president: These midterm elections are the lower ranking guys, the pool from which presidential candidates are chosen. Here we can make a real difference in who reaches the ultimate office later by participating in the preceding elections.

Your vote doesn’t matter enough but it does matter some and it will matter more in the future if more people become interested in voting now.

Anyway, I disappointed myself with the lack of quality in my vote. I did some research on the issues and the judges but did not do it recently enough so all of the names and specifics were forgotten. I thought about voting to kick out all of the incumbent judges but I decided just to cast a blank vote when I wasn’t absolutely sure what I wanted. Otherwise I voted for democrats which is the best strategy right now.

Some libertarians on the ballot. I like libertarians, but now is not the time for other parties. More on that when I am done discussing today’s ballot.

The funniest & most interesting candidate was the guy running for sheriff. His big issue was marijuana legalization. But sheriff does not pass any new laws, so I’m not sure what else he thinks he could actually do about that, he wasn’t very specific. Although he did not always seem to show good judgement I voted for him anyway because he did concur with me on important issues. I know he can’t win, anyway. But if he did, still I think it would still be the better result over our opponent.

The other funny/depressing candidates were GOP people whose rationality and even spelling ability was sometime slacking. I can’t spell either but I know how to use spell check before I publish anything.

Some weeks ago Rep Stutzman tried to reach out to me over email on the topic of Net Neutrality to which he is opposed. I sent him argumentative responses and made him look bad on his Facebook page when he ignored the question I posted on his wall. He is a moron but better than the man he replaced, Souder, who was pure evil. Regrettably I think Stutzman has good reason not to be very worried about being re-elected this time.

There were multiple GOP running unopposed. How depressing. I wanted to do a silly write in vote for every unopposed GOP but there weren’t enough options to specify write in candidates. I was complaining about this to my husband as we were walking out of the polls and a random person overheard me and said “oh no!” I think she was being sarcastic but I didn’t engage her so I can’t be sure.

(I sound so fucking weird and crazy to random people like her, probably. I also have a very hyperbolic sense of humor. I’d like to think that once I get chance to explain myself I am capable of being a mostly a rational and well-thought out person, albeit unconventional.)

Despite having the address and using GPS on my phone the building was difficult for us to find because it was behind another building so was difficult to see. It would be good if there were some directional signs on the road.

The lack of interest and promotion of the midterm elections is not surprising as I believe there is a conspiracy to discourage certain kinds of people from voting.

Part of the conspiracy of voter suppression: voter ID laws are no good. I am an actual disenfranchised voter due to the laws. I am confident that there are way more stories like mine than there are instances of voter fraud that hypothetically may have been prevented by the laws.

2008 was the first general election while I was old enough to vote so that was very disappointing to be turned away. We had just moved states and had not yet been able to get IDs in the new state yet nor were we able to travel to our old state.

Before we moved I was able to vote for Obama in the democratic primaries where due to his tight race with Hilary I think my vote counted more. I was skeptical of Obama’s brilliant hype machine at first but eventually my husband got me on board. I also made the rational decision that because of the hype, Obama had the best chance of winning against McCain, and keeping the GOP out of office is more important than supporting my favorite candidate, unfortunately.

I have been disappointed by Obama but glad he got into office without my help. 2016 is scary because he could be replaced by someone worse.

To support candidates I like most and get other parties involved in a meaningful way I support implementing instant runoff voting which would prevent issues like Nader when making it more difficult for Gore in 2000. After that scandal the scene was pretty much ruined for other parties.

The 2000 elections are a sad story. 2000 could have been a great story because was a good run for Nader who was the strongest other party candidate in my memory. It could have been his best year when he almost made the 5% of popular vote he needed. This near success was ruined by coming up just short of the 5% then being blamed for spoiling the election for Gore. Which is so unfair Nader for multiple reasons. Nader did nothing wrong by running.

The anger should have been directed to the potential voter fraud that was potentially taking place and which favored Bush. How depressing it is that they got away with it then passed the voter ID laws on a mostly unfounded fear of a different fraud scenario.

In 2008 of the big democrats in that race I think I would have liked Edwards most. Unfortunately he was ruined by the sex scandal. This is one of the GOP’s favorite smear tactics. It has backfired on them at least once with Rep Souder but overall it’s worked out very well for them because the public can be manipulated by some stupid bullshit.

Due to Nader’s experience with the planted seductresses I have no doubt the scandals are cynically fueled by the desire for a competitive advantage.

At the time Nader was embroiled in a battle with GM and other automobile manufacturers over Nader’s safety regulations such as seat belt requirements which manufacturers were resisting for stupid selfish reasons. But Nader won, the safety standards were implemented and have saved at least hundreds of thousands of lives.

Ralph Nader was able to prove in court that GM actually hired women to attempt to seduce and mire him in a political sex scandal. Nader should have won points with the “family values conservative” for being so fucking uncorruptible by sexual temptation, but he is not in the pocket of companies like GM, which is who those people so undeserving of the label “conservative” are ultimately tools for.


FYI: Today I revised and added Obama vs Romney & my dream for capitalism from 2012. Also updated my other book A Very Gross Tableau about what else is going on with me today.


Last updated November 04, 2014


Ferret Mom November 04, 2014

When Obama won the first time they had a gathering of around a million people in Grant Park in Chicago. I went and saw him give his acceptance speech. Of course I was stuck way in the back, but I was there.

synapse Ferret Mom ⋅ November 04, 2014

The public energy following the election of a black president was pretty impressive. Being present for his acceptance must have been an intense experience even in the back. I'm very jealous!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.