NJM-03 in NoJoMo 2104

  • Nov. 3, 2014, 11:11 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

3.The people you most admire.

There are so many people I admire. Most of you are included. Yes. You.

I admire my children, though they aren’t really children anymore. THAT concept is difficult to wrap my head around, most days! Three of them are adults and the youngest is so close to adulthood that it is both frightening and exhilirating.

I admire Audrey. She is my eldest. She is married and has three beautiful daughters. She is an LPN, an EMT, and a Deputy Coroner for her county. Oh…and she is back in school and just registered for her last semester of RN school. I don’t know how she has time for all she does, but she manages to do it all and does a damned good job of it. Audrey is a strong-willed woman who is fiercely loyal to those whom she loves. But when she was so very sick recently, she was still my baby girl.

I admire Kevin. He is an RN and just switched to a new job, working in ICU at a local hospital. Oh…and when he turned in his resignation at the old job, they asked him to stay on as a part-time consultant, so he’s doing that, too. When he isn’t working or remodeling his home, he and his beautiful wife are having all sorts of fun raising their four lovely daughters! Kevin is kind-hearted and loving, and when I look at the 6‘6” tall man, I swear I can still see the spark of the sweet little boy he was, not so long ago.

I admire Jordan. He just got married last Tuesday. He took a job outside his field (Aerospace Engineering) so that he could stay with his wife until she graduates in Deccember. They are looking forward to starting the new year applying for jobs and deciding where to live. Jordan was always my calmest child, and he still exhibits that same quiet calm. It takes true grace to make this look so effortless. I look at him sometimes and the years melt away so that all I see is the curious, laughing little boy he used to be.

I admire Anna. She is artistically talented and is constantly amazing all of us with what she can create. She is very focused right now on achieving, both artistically and academically, so that she will be accepted into the university of her choice after she graduates high school in 2016. She has a very strong sense of justice and almost always roots for the underdog. She is more beautiful than she knows. Sometimes, when we are taking our evening walk, she will slip her hand into mine and I am instantly transported back to a time when we held hands on all our walks together.

There are many more people I admire, but tonight I just wanted to focus on these four, whom I admire above all others. I love them because they are my children, but I like them because they are wonderful people…and I admire them because they all have the strength and desire to follow their dreams.


Last updated November 03, 2014


Panini Queen November 04, 2014

Love this beautiful tribute to your babies.

Wayfaring_Stranger November 04, 2014

Awesome

tragicgalaxy November 04, 2014

<3

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.