Business Improving in Diary

  • Nov. 3, 2014, 4:59 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I want to write all about Thursday and Friday just gone but the site I use for hosting my photos isn’t working and I don’t want to write about it without the photos! It was a really fun couple of days though, seeing Vic Reeves, Bob Mortimer and Matt Berry record their sitcom House of Fools, then I went on the Coronation Street studio tour; it was so cool to see the interior and exteriors of all the locations, where they filmed for 50 years before moving studios earlier this year. And on Friday night we went to see Noel Fielding so it was a busy couple of days.

But I’ll write all about those when I can get my photos up as I don’t want to post half a story.

I just wanted to write about how the business is going. It’s going well at the moment! In the last week I’ve gained three new customers and have enquiries from two more, I’ve been overwhelmed with admin today.

So, to go with Roxy the rottweiler five times a week, I now also have Joanie the bull mastiff five times a week, plus Loki and Sabre the huskies three times a week. All are ENORMOUS dogs and all are more than a handful. I should never have imagined that this job would be leisurely strolls in the park with well behaved puppies, of course I’m going to be walking dogs that their owners can’t handle. Spending hours every day fighting not to be pulled over by two large and very strong huskies who know they were born to pull.

But they are all beautiful, friendly creatures and it’s a guaranteed £102.50 every week just from those three, not including the customers who use me on an ad-hoc basis. I know it’s still a long way off what I need to be earning, but after two months it’s not going badly and is growing all the time.

The other new customer I have is a lady who’s going on holiday for five days next month and has a cat and 11 chickens which I’m going to be looking after so that should be fun. She says I can keep any eggs that I find too! In the winter, only two of the hens lay but that’s still 10 free eggs over the course of the five days, and they’re free range eggs I’ll have collected myself which is an exciting bonus :o)

Getting there gradually! :o)


~Twinkle~ November 03, 2014

Great news re new customers :) xx

Canadian Lass November 03, 2014

Awesome!!!

Camdengirl November 04, 2014

Great stuff! Huskies are hard work - I've never understood why people have them as pets.

Bomb Shell Camdengirl ⋅ November 04, 2014

I was thinking the same thing. They are gorgeous and very loving, but hard work as you say. Because they are huge and boisterous, I wouldn't call them an ideal pet. They're definitely better off pulling sleds, these two want to do that so badly, but they'll make do with pulling me off my feet instead! Maybe I should pop on my roller skates ;o)

Camdengirl Bomb Shell ⋅ November 04, 2014

Apparently you can get a harness for that... I really would not trust them not to drag me into oncoming traffic though. I had a friend who has a really outdoorsy job who has one and he has it running free most of the day and also does a big walk in the evenings with him... And he's still antsy. Beautiful and so intelligent - but would not ever want one as a pet.

I can't fathom having a dog like that in a suburban setting.

Lucretia November 04, 2014

It sounds like the business is coming on a treat. This time next yerar you'll wonder why you were ever worried :)

Bomb Shell Lucretia ⋅ November 04, 2014

It's certainly starting to come together nicely :o)

Babe In Toyland November 04, 2014

Simon's friend has malamutes, she's only tiny, but walks 2 or three of them at a time, attached to a harness around her waist. Simon was telling me that once she was walking them and they caught wind of a rabbit, and just took off, dragging her behind them for about 100 yards, through hedges, brambles and nettles before she managed to unclip them! She still walks them around Keswick, they're gorgeous!
You can C & P your photos directly from Facebook. I do it all the time. :)

Bomb Shell Babe In Toyland ⋅ November 04, 2014

I might have to get one of those waist harnesses, the leads dig into my hands too much when they're pulling.

Ah right, I thought only people on your Facebook friends list could see them if you did that?

Babe In Toyland Bomb Shell ⋅ November 04, 2014

All the photos I put on here come directly from Facebook, so yes. Using the img src code rather than a direct link.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.