Friday Night Therapy in And The Rest.

  • Nov. 2, 2014, 10:44 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Friday night, drunk and messy, smudged around the edges by vodka, Jaeger, amaretto, who knows what else, I can’t remember. Sweaty makeup, glassy eyes, hair unruly curls from too much energetic dancing, the music is amazing.

Underage girl with smudged panda eyes, sprawled outside on the pavement, curled up on herself, crying heaving sobs, crying like her heart is breaking. Crying that she wants to die.

People picking their way over her like she’s a stain on the pavement. Crouch down beside her in my platform boots, ask her if she needs a friend. Let her talk, let her cry, I hold her as though I could hold her together, rub her back in gentle circles, tell her nothing’s worth her life.

Almost two hours later, shaky on her feet, she’s agreeing with me, a watery smile, we fix her face and dance to the last song and she smiles. I make sure someone will be there when she gets home, put her in a taxi, go back to find my friends.

A stranger, but I made some kind of difference, if only for one night. But why, why do I value the life of a stranger, persuade her to choose life.... when I still plan to take my own?

If only I could talk as well as I listen

could it save me too?


invisible ink May 04, 2015

It is saving you from what I can tell....

This is a wonderful tale of decency towards another. It is very simple for all of us to take that moment for a stranger no less ourselves. We are an odd sort of creature don't you think? When I see those who look upon others as the stains on humanity I wonder what gives them their strength. Why are the diabolical survivors.... why doesn't their hate consume them..... sorry ... tangent thinking...

Waiting For Sunrise invisible ink ⋅ May 04, 2015

For the most part, I think anyone would do exactly as I did; I was simply surprised that nobody already was.

Perhaps the diabolical survive because others will internalise their hatred, hide it and let it eat them from within.... Less pleasant people do not have the same desire not to show it, they let it spill out and it hurts others, not themselves... Also, in their conviction that they are in the right, they live free of the searing guilt that can destroy people...

invisible ink Waiting For Sunrise ⋅ May 04, 2015

I also find your comments so interesting and filled with great reflections of and on life I feel the need to reread to get all that you offer.... and believe me there are very.... very few people who offer such insight...

Waiting For Sunrise invisible ink ⋅ May 05, 2015

Thank you.... I guess I have a tendency to turn things over in my mind, looking for a new way to see it or an angle I had not previously considered... although such reflection and deconstruction certainly can not always be considered healthy or a blessing... there are so many sides to myself that I would like to think I can empathise quite well with others, but I think most people probably have this ability in equal measure if they keep their minds open to it; all of us are complex and contradictory in many ways..

I enjoy your input and your writing a lot as well; you consistently place yourself in situations that are not necessarily those inside your own head, and find eloquent and understanding ways to express them..

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.