11-1-2014 in Regular Stuff

  • Nov. 1, 2014, 6:48 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

No fancy/clever/funny/song lyrics title for me! I snub my nose at them lol! Actually, one of my faves said something about not doing titles and it made me go “hmmmm, that’s a good idea”. Not that I haven’t done date titles in the past, but usually I don’t. I realized I spend way too much time thinking up titles, so dates it is! Unless of course I do come up with something clever without putting forth much effort.

Happy day after Halloween. I would say ours was pretty awesome. In terms of trick or treaters at the house, great costumes and the haul the kids brought home, it was definitely a good one.

I was excited to be the one staying home and handing out candy. I perfected the whole “one for you, one for me” skill years ago lol. We had a fair amount of kids but nothing outstanding in the costume department. Quite a few Ninja Turtles, a pirate, 2 princesses, and several I wasn’t sure what they were.

It’s been a long time since I’ve been able to give out candy. The last few apartments we lived in were secured buildings so we had no trick or treaters. Another great thing about living in a house. I still sometimes find myself wanting to shush the kids because of the neighbors downstairs lol.

Leah and Zoe both had “Hello Kitty” costumes. Aimee drew some whiskers on their face and they looked adorable. Aimee has become such a bargain shopper and coupon queen. She got their costumes for $1.50 each at Target! That girl loves her some Target.

Makayla was some kind of Raven princess from one of the shows she watches. She loved her costume, especially her long purple and black wig. I really don’t think she’s ever been as excited for Halloween as she was this year.

At almost 3, I think this was the first year that Zoe really got the concept. She’s a professional now.

I really made a pig of myself with chocolate. I’m eating a fun size Snickers as I type this! I have no control that’s why I don’t keep candy around the house. And by the way, why are little candy bars called “fun size”? I have much more fun eating big ones. Just sayin’.

Thanks for your comments on my last entry. I’ve made a conscious effort to not make any snide remarks or bicker about money.

I’m trying to find a job to make a little cushion money. On SS disability, you are allowed to make a certain amount without affecting your earnings. It’s called “Ticket to Work” and it’s a great program if your disability is improving and you’re trying to ease back into the work force. If your disability is permanent, like mine, it can be a great way to make a little extra money. A little extra would be a really great thing. As things stand now, we have no cushion, nothing set aside for emergencies.

There are agencies to help you find work-at-home positions. It’s not easy though. First you have to complete the training program, which I’ve done. You need to have a QUIET, designated work station, a designated land line and be available for any shift, including nights and weekends. You need a computer of course, - alt textand you must meet their operating and software requirements. Oh and you need a headset. You also have to compete with a lot of other applicants, just like any job.

All of this is doable except for the quiet work space. Weekdays and even late at night would be fine, but there is no way to contain this brood when they’re home. This is one time I wish we had a 2 story home. I will not give up, as this is something I really want to do. Most jobs are customer service, including one listed for Amazon (I LOVE Amazon!). Almost all of them are seasonal positions. Keep your fingers crossed for me please!

Well that’s all I’ve got. I’m going to try and upload some pics to this entry. If you don’t see any, I obviously wasn’t successful.

Well I do see how to do it, but I can’t figure out to copy and paste the link from my Kindle photos. I’ll try to figure it out later.


Last updated November 01, 2014


Deleted user November 01, 2014

I'm so excited to be here leaving you a note. I just love to read whatever you want to share. Do you know, at one point in time I might have qualified for disability but my doctor did not encourage it. He felt I would do better if I were working. Well, I guess I am doing better than I would if I were on disability but sometimes it's hard because I have to worry about my medical care and how I will obtain my much needed medication. If I am not able to take my medication, I will become ill and then I will be unable to work. Every year I wonder what kind of health insurance my employer will offer and how much it will cost. It's such a stress. But I did not mean to go on and on about myself. I think it would be very nice if you were able to earn a bit of extra money. I think you would probably enjoy working a little too. For these reasons, I hope something will materialize for you soon. I can totally see you working from home and loving what you do.

Ferret Mom November 03, 2014

I love it when people get a lot of trick or treaters.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.