Cruising on the Interstate, wo oh... in One day at a time

  • Oct. 30, 2014, 12:36 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

The next few days in Vegas were spent doing Vegas type things. Although we did do a lot of shopping. I stocked up on Old Navy casual gear, Lane Bryant Bras, got some winter boots, shoes, I discovered Aerosole (I think that was what it was called). and other bits and pieces. Despite all that I still didn’t burn through my hard saved spending money. New York had turned out to be quite cheap (mostly because we had prepaid a lot of stuff). Also I chose to selectively forget that I put the Billy Joel tickets on my credit card and the girls gave me cash for their share, which I added to my spending money (and am now facing the consequences of…..)

To be honest Vegas was all a bit rushed. Susan had a huge shopping list for her children, and we finished up (as we had the whole holiday) having to set an alarm in the morning to get everything done. Especially unenjoyable after our first night there, where we had met up with some old friends of mine at a duelling piano bar. And partied till very very late.

I found being the driver kind of tiring too. I don’t mind it but I find I have to concentrate way more than I do at home – something about that driving on the other side of the road business.

Tuesday was the day to drive down to LA. I had said I wanted to leave either early or late but was determined not to hit the freeway during rush hour (as I always seem to). We left home base early, but then sort of got sidetracked – one last Buffet breakfast, Ross’s visit, followed by one last Target, and then one last outlet mall. You get the picture. All of sudden it was 5.30pm and I was staring down the I10 with the sun in my eyes. We made the executive decision to pull off at one of the “Ranchos” can’t remember which one, but it looked like a purpose built suburb – lots of palm trees and families. One last zap through Macy’s and JC Penny’s and then dinner at the Cheesecake factory. (biggest salad I have ever seen).

So back on the freeway at twilight. We only made one error (who was the genius who put the I01 and the 110 exits next to each other??) but thankfully Chip the GPS got us back on track. Gini was getting a bit huffy and puffy in the back seat about travelling in the dark (but shit I was the one in the hotseat). By then Susan had started to get a bit annoyed with Gini – family will do that to you. Peace was maintained throughout though..


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.