Nice day today in Another Open Diary refugee

  • Oct. 25, 2014, 3:15 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

The weather’s lovely today, so my pain level is minimal… there was a sign on the street corner for a ‘name your own price’ yardsale so I asked John to take me to look at it today… we ended up driving around for awhile and we went to three different sales. The first one didn’t really have anything I wanted, at the second I got two nice tops (when I tried them on at home one doesn’t fit… it’s another to put in the ‘if I magically lose ten pounds’ box because it’s pretty, just too small - some XLs fit me fine, others are a whole size too tight.) And then we saw a sign for a third and it was an old guy who was mostly selling tools, but he had a folding dolly that I snagged for John. He’s wanted one for YEARS but dithered over it because it’s one of those things that work ‘should’ be paying for but they didn’t want to… Now he won’t have to struggle when he has to carry a whole bunch of boxes for work, he can load up the dolly and away he goes, we just need to get some bungee cords for it. The price was right too - he only wanted $2 for it!

Then we went to Walgreens and picked up my Advair, and John wanted to go to Michaels so I asked him to stop at McDonalds first so I could use their restroom. I wanted a choc-dipped cone but as usual they were out of chocolate, so I had a regular one and an apple pie (yeah, the lunch of champions…) I thought John had said he didn’t want anything but actually he’d said he ‘shouldn’t have it but he wanted a chicken wrap, so he sat in the drivethrough about five minutes and when nobody took his order (they were training a new cashier inside so they were going pretty slow) he gave up and went to Subway for a sandwich instead… drove up to Michaels and on the way we saw a sign for an Art show at a local church. He was in a good mood so he said we’d try to find it, but alas we must have turned in the wrong direction or something because the church was nowhere to be found (and it was too late in the day to mess around - the sale said it went till 2, and it was nearly 1.30 already) so we just went to Michaels, where I grabbed a whole bunch of their super-cheap flowers to stick in the yard in front of our fence… grand total - eight bucks for 12 bunches. When I planted them I could really have used a few more, but I bought all the cheapest ones they had left… sure, they look ‘fake’ but they never need watering, they’re not going to up and die on me, and when I get tired of them I can toss them out and get something different…


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.