Trying To Explain Myself. in And The Rest.

Revised: 10/24/2014 2:07 p.m.

  • Oct. 22, 2014, 5 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

There’s a hole in me somewhere, a bath with the plug left out, always empty, always drained. An emptiness inside me that means I am always just one push from caving in on myself like a dead tree rotted away through the centre, a hollow shell. I am nothing, always. Always looking for some way to fill the hole, to make me something.

Every nice thing anyone ever said to me or did for me, I hold tight in my white-knuckled palm like a melting snowflake, because I will never believe that there will be another. I long to fill the hole with them, to stuff the ragged emptiness where my self-esteem should be with other people’s compliments like cotton wool. It never works, they melt away as though they never were.

I go everywhere I am invited because every time I am afraid it will be the last time they remember me and think to ask. I need people around me to remind me I am real, without people I am just a void, swallowed by my own self-doubt.

I am the vacant, vodka-eyed Friday-night friend, I’m superficial, only surface-deep. I’m the one on the stage with a drink in each hand, laughing at nothing, I’m the party girl. The only face of me my friends will ever see. I love being drunk, because alcohol fills that hole perfectly, if only temporarily. Nobody ever thinks that maybe I’d like to hang out sober, just chill out and chat, I don’t have friends when I’m sober. If alcohol wasn’t full of calories, and work wouldn’t frown on it, I’d probably just stay drunk all the time. Without it I have no personality, no reason for anyone to want me around.

I keep the rest of myself in the shadows, because I want people to like me, and there’s nothing to like in a car crash. Everyone turns their head to stare at a wreck, but nobody really wants to see the bloodied mess inside.

I don’t understand why you want me to talk about it, like you’re speaking a foreign language, nothing makes sense to me, I don’t understand why. Please don’t feel you have to offer just in case I throw myself off the bridge next time. I won’t, because I couldn’t do that to the driver who hit me, none of my problems are his fault.

I almost want to trust you… please don’t be laughing at me, I can’t take it, I’m already falling apart at the seams trying to hold it all in.


Last updated October 24, 2014


invisible ink May 15, 2015

I wish to say many things about this but must remind myself that this is in the past and may not hold the same relevance as the day you posted it.....

Waiting For Sunrise invisible ink ⋅ May 16, 2015

Your input is always welcome.. :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.