Acting, Rolling, Working and Hatching in Diary

  • Oct. 23, 2014, 10:29 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Spooky Actor
What have I done since I last wrote? I’ve had two more spooky actor shifts at the safari park. One more as the ghost bride and one as the Queen of Hearts.

The Queen of Hearts wasn’t as much fun as I didn’t get as much of a reaction, but I still had plenty of people wanting photos so that was ok.

I got my first payslip from them too. After they took off my uniform allowance and my tax, I got a grand total of £3.45. REALLY? Gee, I’d better not spend it all at once. For the Queen of Hearts shift, the park was completely empty by 7pm so we were sent home; we’d only been there 2.5 hours and it takes me about 1.5 hours to earn my petrol money back. So, with the time taken to get ready, travel time plus time on site, it took about six hours out of my life and I came away with about £5.00 profit for that shift.

I’ve got six more shifts so I hope the park gets a bit busier!

Roller Derby
On Saturday it was the regional roller derby finals for our league. There were three bouts in one day and I was manning the photo booth. It was good fun, except we could hardly tempt anyone in to have a go. Everyone from my team came in to play and, at one point, all nine of the refs came in, still in their helmets and pads, and put all the costumes on top of what they were wearing. And, just before their game, the Nottingham team came in for a go. But none of the other teams or spectators wanted to have a go. Oh well, we got some fun photos anyway.

The only thing was, I had to leave before our game started, to go to this cut-short shift at the safari park. We won anyway, even though there was only a 9% chance of winning, so a big well done to my Wolfies! :o)

Gaddy and TK

Sheree with her little ones :o)

Our big wolfie mascot, which was kindly donated to us by the Vendetta Vixens :o)

A herd of zebras.

A very productive Wolverhampton Honour Rollers team meeting before the game.

Nottingham Roller Girls, our victims for the day ;o)

I seem to have a new friend at roller derby. Whenever we have to get into pairs, she always instantly picks me, which is really nice. Maybe I can get to know her, she seems friendly and chatty enough. A tiny girl called Emi, I thought she was about 16 but it turns out she’s 28 and married with a child; she doesn’t look old enough! She has a strong accent, I think she’s Polish or German maybe, and she always giggles a lot whenever we have to do anything with physical contact; not sure if she’s embarrassed or just thinks its really funny!

She’s only been going for six weeks and she’s already better than me, which is really annoying as I’ve been going for over five months! Ah well, at least I’m better than some other people who have been going for longer than me. As they keep saying, don’t compare yourself to anyone else, just compare yourself to yourself from a week/ month/ six months ago.

Work
Still very quiet on the work front. I have a consultation this evening with a potential new client. They are out at work during the day and would want me to walk their dog five times a week. This would be great as it would be a guaranteed £35 a week. I know it’s hardly big bucks, but it would double my current guaranteed income as the only other regular customer I currently have is Roxy! So I hope I make a good impression :o)

Loft Hatch (boring)
We’ve just had someone come over to look in our loft with a view to getting insulation. British Gas are giving away free insulation to anyone who wants it so I thought I’d get in on that, seeing as though we appear to have none in the loft. I did warn them when I rang up that, for some stupid reason, the hatch is above the bath and is very small; I can only just fit through it myself. So this guy turns up, and well, he’s hardly on the slim side…there was no way he would have fit up there. Also, he looked at the bath and the hatch and said he’s not even going to try as he would get sacked if he put the ladder in the bath. I had put a piece of carpet in there and told him I’ve done it a few times but he still wouldn’t look. Complete waste of time.

So now we need to find some money to get a new loft hatch put on the landing. We can then get it insulated and a bonus aspect of being able to put some boards down so we can use it for storage; there’s a whole floor of the house we’re not using up there and all our storage boxes etc. are currently squashed into various cupboards, which makes it very difficult whenever we want to get anything out as we have to empty whole cupboards first! It will be much easier if we have all the space in the loft.


Last updated October 23, 2014


Babe In Toyland October 23, 2014

That's a bit pants about the safari park wages!
I just released I'd said I'd come and visit you soon...um, I'd best think about it then, hadn't i? :/

Bomb Shell Babe In Toyland ⋅ October 23, 2014

Yeah mam and dad said they're going to come before Christmas as well and they also like the sound of the German market, so maybe you could come with them.

Babe In Toyland Bomb Shell ⋅ October 24, 2014

Oh yeah! I'll prod them about that....

Miso Honey October 24, 2014

Queen of hearts isn't a "jump out of your seat" character, but a really cool atmospheric one.

Great costume!

Vee October 25, 2014

That outfit is really cool, it just sucks that it's not really doing much for you financially :-\

Lucretia October 29, 2014

The safari park wage is slave labour, how are they getting away with that? At least you're having fun with it I guess x

Bomb Shell Lucretia ⋅ October 29, 2014

It's £6.50 per hour which is minimum wage. It just happens to be 25 miles away so it takes me 1.5 hours to earn my petrol money back...include travel time and getting ready time, it adds another couple of hours on so a 4.5 hour shift actually takes 6.5 hours of my time :-/

I'm counting myself lucky; one of the girls is only 17 so she's only getting £3.79 per hour for doing the exact same job!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.