Knitting: Trudgers in Creations

  • Aug. 7, 2013, 11:11 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Here's a couple of pair of socks I recently made. I call my homemade socks "Trudgers." The first pair are kinda fancy and made with sock yarn on size US 2 needles. They take a long time to finish -- I figure around 14 hours. Some people say they want to learn to knit, but don't think they have the patience for the craft. It does take patience, both in terms of time and in terms of fucking up, ripping out, and starting over. If you have no patience with making mistakes, then this is not the craft for you. I consider myself a moderately well-skilled knitter. I've learned the most from making mistakes and being willing to correct them without throwing everything in the waste basket.

DSC04581

Another great thing about knitting is that when you are knitting in a simple stockinette stitch or garter stitch, such as the socks below, it can be a meditation tool. The motions are repetitious and soothing. If you are a spiritual person and you are making the item for someone you care about, you can put a little prayer into each stitch.

DSC04582

The socks above are cozy Trudgers. They aren't really meant for wearing in shoes, but more for warming your feet in the winter months. You can wear them in shoes, though, if you have shoes or slippers that are too large for you. They'll fill that space up nicely. The yarn is heavier and the needles used to knit them larger. They took around 7 hours to make.

I call these orphan Trudgers because I make them from scrap yarn left over from other projects. These I made for my grandson when he was a wee one.

All of these socks are my own patterns, which I don't have written down. I've knitted so many pairs of socks that I don't really use a pattern any longer unless I want to learn a new method or design.


Lyn August 07, 2013

You are talented.

Love the design of the top pair and the idea that a prayer is in every stitch in the second pair.

Brava.

Lobbastah August 07, 2013

I want to learn the stockinette stitch next.

And you are right, it does take a lot of patience; knitting takes much longer (for me) than crochet.

Linda Lobbastah ⋅ August 07, 2013

Oh you are so right. Crochet goes much faster. I like to do both. I'll post a photo of a couple of my crochet projects at some point. I haven't done any lately.

NorthernSeeker August 07, 2013

I love that top pair of sox. So cool.

Rick August 07, 2013

I love those...

Putting a prayer into each stitch...I like that thought. Now that my hands are free at dialysis because they're no longer accessing my arm, I think I need to take up knitting. After all, I have lots of people I'd love to make stuff for, and I need a pair of those trudgers for me too. :)

minnie58 August 07, 2013

I need a pair of those! :-)

themoodyone August 08, 2013

:) Orphan trudger socks! Love it. You can tell the cozy ones are aptly named, even from the photo.

Daisy Mae August 12, 2013

I was inspired by your knitting last year, to make Christmas gifts for all my family back in the UK. I knitted each item with one person in mind, weaving in thoughts of love as I went along. I am doing the same this year, it was such a hit with everyone. Thank you for the inspiration.

Linda Daisy Mae ⋅ August 13, 2013

Hi Daisy Mae! So glad to be a "good" inspiration occasionally. ;) I'm also glad to see you here.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.