I need a refill on everything in A new beginning

  • Oct. 20, 2014, 6:39 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So I should probably update to say I survived the surgery and it’s been way tougher this time around. I’m typing this with just my left hand and I’m right handed so excuse any mistakes. She had to excise a skin flap this time so I’m assuming that’s why it hurt so much. The first night was bad. Nothing I did was working and thank God my coworker took Lilly for a few hours because I felt like I was crawling out of my skin in pain. Thankfully they wore her out and she went to sleep when she got home but I still only got 2 hours of sleep and had to be at a conference the next day. That was pure torture.

Still have this on, which is a lot bulkier than it looks and using the sling at work to help with the pain. I cannot get this thing through any of my jacket sleeves which sucks considering how freaking cold it is!
 photo 10600629_10153270841407501_1926474292144235603_n_zps4943770d.jpg

It’ll come off on Thursday and I’ll get my stitches taken out then. Will be interesting to see if I bruised as much or more this time.

I had a guy that had surgery the same day I did last week call in today asking for a refill on his vicodin. He had a carpal tunnel release and a trigger release surgery which are the most minor and painless surgeries you can have. My surgeon gave him tramadol for a refill which I’m surprised because most of the time she will just tell them to take ibuprofen at this point. I told him this was what we were calling in for him and he goes “whatever the hell that is.” and I explained to him what it was. “Well as long as it works! I have sharp pains in both of my hands ok!” I wanted to be like look dude, I had a way more painful surgery than you did the same day and I am not taking any vicodin AND I’ve been working since the day after surgery with no restrictions so simmer down with that shit. He was basically trying to imply that I didn’t know how much pain he was in and honestly narcotics do not help with nerve pain anyway but whatever. He will call in tomorrow and complain.

Also had a gang member that I scheduled for surgery next week who my surgeon said she meant to see before his surgery and told me that she will NOT be doing it next week. This dude is scary, has gun shot wounds through like every part of his body (unrelated to this surgery that will be done) so he I’m sure is going to take the news just well. He also likes to show up unannounced too. Also had another patient flip out because apparently he had been receiving 150 of oxycodone 15 mg tabs from another doctor and we had been prescribing him another narcotic not knowing so we cancelled that script even though the pharmacy were idiots and already gave the script to him. They decided to call and check to see if this was okay AFTER they gave it to him. So he calls and leaves this nasty message saying we should have known. I’ve done his intake many times and this guy is such a douche and is crazy. I feel like between gang member and oxycodone guy we are destined to get shot up tomorrow. Have I mentioned how much I hate dealing with drug addicts? Neither of these upstanding citizens work either and are on disability of course. I should get me some disability after dealing with all of these pyschopaths every day!

Speaking of pain, I am getting so sick of dealing with the constant pain in my back, shoulders, wrists and head. My shoulders and wrists are visibly inflamed and I get so nauseous after eating most days I feel like there has to be something else going on. I started bleeding again last week too which is really annoying considering I have an IUD and don’t get periods. Feel like my hormones are all out of wack. I see my rheumatologist in a couple weeks and also set up a chiropractor appt for a few days later so I’m hoping between the two of those appointments I can find some kind of relief. My weight is staying between 110-114 thankfully so I’m not losing anymore. I’m so done with this though. I seriously feel like I’m 80 years old. I feel so weak, it’s ridiculous. But you know what, I’m not going to call up my doctors and scream and swear at them and treat them like shit because I’m in pain. You know because that’s not what a nice normal human being does.

I left work today feeling so defeated. I was just in so much pain physically and emotionally I just wanted to cry. Left so much work undone as usual but mentally I just had to leave. I’m tired of giving 200 percent and it not meaning anything. It just irritates me how lithium manager is able to bully everyone and has favorites that get away with murder. These are naturally the people that screw up on EVERYTHING but she gives special treatment to because they never say no and will do everything she says no matter how morally wrong it is and they are of course not that intelligent so she sees that and knows she can manipulate them even more. If she would just leave already I would actually look forward to work, crazies and all.

On a non-negative note, yesterday one of my friends posted some ultrasound pics on facebook and Lilly saw them and asked what it was. I explained to her, “That’s a baby in their mommy’s belly. You were in my belly when you were a baby too”. Lilly’s response: “Oh, I sorry.” haha. Love her. Didn’t even have to explain the 30+ hard hours of labor with no epidural, she just knew. Least someone is empathetic! Even if they’re only 3 years old I’ll take it! ha.


Last updated October 20, 2014


NeonLady October 20, 2014

Ugh, how miserable! I'm so sorry! :(

Fawkes Gal October 21, 2014

No fun being in pain. I hope you start feeling better soon and can at least get some time to take it easy.

Lilly is so sweet. :)

Vee October 25, 2014

I'm sorry to hear that you're in pain after the surgery :-(
X x

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.