Quick Weekend in My this and that

  • Oct. 20, 2014, 1:22 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

After two weekends that were long it felt like this one went by too quickly. But boy did I have a good weekend!

Friday night we stayed in. I did some reading, watched a bit of tv, just kind of puttered around the house a bit.

Saturday we got up early (ish… still slept in more than on a work day) and off we went for a “date night” in the morning! The movie theatre had free movies playing starting at 9 a.m., with snacks for only $2 each! So we went and saw Paranorman which was fine. We wouldn’t have chosen it if we had to pay. We bought three bags of popcorn, two drinks and a bag of candy. Mmmm the popcorn was SOOOO good! Always my favourite.

After that I dropped Ben off at home and I came in to “work” which actually is just the church, where we were having a “Girlfriends’ Cafe” an event for ladies between the ages of 20-45ish to come and connect. It went really well, which I’m glad for since I’m now on the committee.

Then I went home and picked up Ben and he came with me to the Scattered Seeds Christmas Show, which is basically like a “craft” show, but good quality stuff made in Canada. I new about it because the make-up brand I buy had a booth there, and I needed to buy some mascara anyway. It was quite fun to walk around and see all the product. I wanted to buy more things than I allowed myself to, but I DID pick up some g-free pie crusts and cookies.

Then home we went and I did some more reading and lounging and relaxing.

Sunday was church! I have been having a hard time coming to church lately, since it’s where I work… and since I do so much prep for the service, I get to see all my mistakes on Sunday. I’m trying to get past all of that and really focus on my relationship with God… and LISTEN to the sermon and hear what God is trying to tell me. I’m finding it even more important for me to put time into my relationship and growth during the week on my own, more than ever before.

After church we went home. Ben did the dishes, washed the car, and worked hard around the house. I cleaned the bathroom, and the bedroom.... AND I cleaned the oven for the first time in my life. It’s kind of embarrassing that I’ve never done it before… but now I feel kind of proud of myself. It’s not perfect and spotless, but it is lots better than it was. Might put down a layer of tin-foil so that the bottom doesn’t get so dirty again.

Then I made a chocolate pie with one of my new pie crusts. I did a dairy free version of pudding with palm sugar instead of regular sugar and tapioca starch instead of corn starch. I’m not sure that the pudding thickened up correctly, but I figure… it’s chocolate pie; even if it falls apart, it will still be delicious!

Tonight I’m driving Ben to his band jam… and tomorrow we both have the day off and he gets the pins out of his toes! Really hoping he’ll be able to drive after that, because he misses driving so much!


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.