As Providence Decrees in Meeting Mr. Jesus Christ

  • Oct. 18, 2014, 9:23 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

“For by grace are ye saved through faith; and that not of yourselves: it is the gift of God: Not of works, lest any man should boast. For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus unto good works, which God hath before ordained that we should walk in them.” ~ Ephesians 2:8-10 KJV

Though I was far from understanding the meaning, this was the first Bible verse one of my mentors injected to my mind. Night after night we talked about what grace meant, how I would know without doubt faith was the path to my salvation, and my salvation was the gift of God. It took some time, though not too much, before I began to recognize God had planned my life for His purpose and I was being called as His servant. Now several years have passed and this fundamental verse is indelibly etched into my heart, such that it is the beat to which my heart thumps.

“Go” was a quiet whisper falling by my ear when I was first saved. My nervous reluctance the first time I was called to service was near comical. In discussion I asked “why?”, naturally in return my mentor would say, “why not?”. Without understanding, I was compelled to go and learned the joy of service, literally. One week of data entry for a missionary group serving children around the world. I had been prepared with computer skills.

A short time passed and a gentle “Go!” sounded clear as a bell. Without hesitation I went. Long story short, my Christian walk saw thirty years of my life experience called to God’s service for a Sister in Christ. Though I was there to serve, in the end I was the one very deeply blessed. That time what I learned wasn’t so literal as spiritual.

God has given me gifts, how many I likely don’t realize, but I do recognize some of them. I know because He repeatedly calls me to them or brings me to where they are needed.

The past two days have called fifty-two years of my life experience into service. It has been emotionally challenging yet I see I was being prepared, that now I am prepared, and if that were not true God would not have opened this door and asked me to walk through it. My willingness, though present, has been more like Jonah being asked to go to Ninevah. I knew this was going to be scary turf and wanted to go the opposite direction, even avoid being involved all together But as the old saying goes, “if God brought you to it, He will see you through it”. Truth is, when God calls me, I may internally kick and resist, but it is merely moments before I respond. I have no question it is God, I recognize Him.


Site Meter

web stats

find my ip


crystal butterfly October 19, 2014

So many of us still try to work our way into Heaven even though we get there thru Grace. And we forget that God equips us and prepares us for everything He plans for us to do.

leonalia October 19, 2014

It is amazing how he helps us and we grow in such amazing ways because of His Grace

Tuff e Nuffy October 20, 2014

Obedience is all He ask. Willingness comes from us. \

Spirit Song October 25, 2014

He prizes obedience above sacrifice; He loves that you are a willing vessel.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.