cancer in The Daily (2014)

  • Oct. 17, 2014, 8:31 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

sorry for fucking off for a while. I’ve had a lot going on in my life that I am trying to sift through. Not going to write about all of it because I hate writing catch up posts.
My mom was diagnosed with lung cancer a couple weeks ago and I have been trying to deal with my feelings about it. I feel, primarily, intense fear. And then guilt, in part about that fear and because I know I have neglected my relationship with my mom for a while. I am not good at honouring and maintaining my relationships with the people in my life. I really love my mom but I forget about people a good chunk of the time. I am so wholly introverted I can go for weeks without seeing anyone and feel perfectly content and still feel as close to them as I am capable as feeling. Lately I have been wondering if this isn’t of itself a defense mechanism, but this isn’t the post for that.
I feel guilty because many of the things I am scared of are selfish. I don’t want to lose my mom. There are so many things I need her here for. I want her there when I get married, I want her there when I have my first child. I want her there to celebrate with me and advise me and support me, as she always has done. If she dies, she will leave a big mom shaped whole in my life and I am not sure how to deal with it. And I don’t know how I could handle seeing her suffer, if she gets sicker. I honestly feel so young and like a child still. I don’t feel like I have the tools to cope with this.
If course, I will never let her see this. I just want to be supportive. I want her to be healthy and to get there she needs cheerleaders.
I have more to write, I feel, but I have to go for now.


sassafras October 17, 2014

I'm so sorry to hear about your mom. Sending you and her good vibes. xoxo

Nomad of the North October 21, 2014

I'm so sorry to hear that. I'm in a similar place with my dad now, not just with the illness but with the tendency to forget about them even when I love them. I'm sure she knows you love her and will feel the love and support you give, even (or especially) if it's your unique brand.

Miso Honey October 23, 2014

I am so sorry to hear this.

hugs

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.