Thus, -I Have Embarked Upon My Two-Week Vacation, or The Other Side of the Glass in Elephant Architecture

  • April 29, 2024, 10:26 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

A new Patient on one of my wards has become a new and rewarding project for me. He began our introduction by asking me if I liked math as I walked past his room to my shift sitting with a violent patient who is hearing voices. I told the first kid, for that was what his energy said he was, that I would check into his math project later when I was leaving my shift. He kept pacing by the room I was stationed in and striking friendly conversations which I myself would have to dash with a friendly heart. I do my best to keep-up a good spirit with the patients. Human emotions and hope are the most delicate of things. I was not able to entertain his mathematical inquiry that morning. Dr. G_ is working as a contract worker for an extra income while she is not teaching Nursing at the University. She and he were having one of those moments I needed to de-escalate. Most folks find working with those with mental deficits intimidating where I never find myself in fear of any harm. I grew up tending to big animals and learned early on how one’s temperament affects the outcome. I am as calm as a serene lake inside.

A few evenings ago, I was stationed on the same ward with the same patient. However, this shift I was freed-up for half of it instead of sitting the whole shift long with the special case. I was able to speak with the “math genius” more fluently and freely. He has a B.A. in math from a Jesuit university down south I have heard of. His father was military and both his parents worked their careers in the education system. We sort of had a duel of intelligence for a few moments; it will never cease to amaze me at which mental patients will still feel superior to you on the other side of the glass. But, alas, that is just normal human behavior dating back as far as the ancient Greeks. I would transition the conversation to yoga and guided meditation. And, he is a practitioner as well. He was excited to show me some postures he was working on and finally began respecting me when I showed him the Reclined Warrior on my side of the glass. I taught for a while and have practiced for more than a decade. He let me into his circle as an advocate. We talked for almost 45 minutes while I was enacting my checks on the other patients periodically.

Patient W_.

He and I were of similar interests as far as food: he is vegan and I am vegetarian, -was vegan for two years. He wishes to teach middle or high school when he gets out. As I am well-known in the yoga circles down South where I am, I was able to psychologically place him in the Yogic Journey. He is a student of mine. As I walk by for my checks, he is showing me the pigeon posture and I instruct him to breathe and use fluid movements. He is forcing the posture which I can relate to. I did the same and still do. That is Power Yoga. He showed no signs of a mental deficit other than being slightly narcissistic but no more than the average assholes I’ve come across in other careers. I haven’t dug up why he was initially admitted but he told me he made it to a group home where he “was being bullied by the high workers” so he bought mushrooms at a gas station and called his therapist.

I am looking forward to working with this one. He has a good spirit and I feel he could make it.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.