Comment notification update in Site Updates

  • Oct. 17, 2014, 12:08 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

OK, so someone pointed out that the comment notification system isn’t quite as awesome as it could be, since it doesn’t notify people within the comment thread that there’s a comment below them, if it’s not their entry or a direct reply.

Plus, I was starting to notice things slowing down a bit when trying to hit my comment inbox (because, I have over 10,000 comments probably) - and that’s bothered me for a while now.

So I added a whole new “notification” system - it will pretty much look the same to you, but it will give me a lot more flexibility with future features (like being able to delete a comment notification, without deleting the comment itself).

I do a need a little bit of help testing this newfangled notification thingamajig.

If you feel so inclined, please feel free to contribute to a reply thread in this entry, and see if you get notified of replies in the thread that aren’t directly to you.

Thanks and have a lovely Thursday evening.


Echo October 17, 2014

What do I do if there are no reply threads yet....

One Angry Dwarf Echo ⋅ October 17, 2014

HAY THERE SIMPLE MIND, U GETTIN NOTIFICATIONS FER DIZ?!

god i'm good at words

simple mind One Angry Dwarf ⋅ October 17, 2014

Yup, but it's my entry so that's less interesting than if, say, Echo gets notified of THIS comment. :)

One Angry Dwarf simple mind ⋅ October 17, 2014

Oh, right... BUT WAIT. Didn't that always happen? Or. Wait. GOD I'M CONFUSED.

Personally, I've always gotten notifications when someone responds to a thread I already responded to. I think?! But I never got notifications when someone else responded to a comment on MY entry. Like I write an entry, and Joe says "good entry, Jess" and then Bob responds to Joe like "good comment, Joe." I don't get a notification for the latter.

Echo One Angry Dwarf ⋅ October 17, 2014

It works!

simple mind One Angry Dwarf ⋅ October 17, 2014

No, before you would only get notified of direct replies to you. So now, if someone replies to your comment, then someone replies to that person's comment, you'll get a notification. That wasn't true before.

Lepetit pumpkinesque October 17, 2014

Being the fire comment I see this going badly for me

Teflon Superhero Lepetit pumpkinesque ⋅ October 17, 2014

FIIIIIIIIIIIIYAAAH, doot doo dododododo FIIIIIYAAAAAAAH YEAH YEAH YEAH YEA YEEEUUH

Lepetit pumpkinesque Teflon Superhero ⋅ October 17, 2014

Come in like a hurricane!

Lepetit pumpkinesque October 17, 2014

Fire comment, first comment. Whatever. It's basically the same thing right?

simple mind Lepetit pumpkinesque ⋅ October 17, 2014

We didn't start the fire.

cricket_factor October 17, 2014

Let's see if it works....

Kimber October 17, 2014

I'm a little confused. Is this like Facebook, where if you comment on someone's status, you thereafter get notified if anyone else comments on their status?

simple mind Kimber ⋅ October 17, 2014

No, just the thread. FB doesn't have threads, I don't think... so you get notified of things that never had anything to do with your comment.

One Angry Dwarf Kimber ⋅ October 17, 2014

YUP. I think so.

Anaiss October 17, 2014

I really appreciate all your work for us here and as I've noted before, I'll happily pay for this site! I did notice today that new bookmark entries aren't showing up for me. I mean, the entries are, but the column on the left that tells you how many comments you have, how many new entries there are from your bookmarked friends, etc., isn't indicating anything.

simple mind Anaiss ⋅ October 17, 2014

I'm not aware of any problems with the bookmark notification, but I do need to fix the comment notification so it counts all comments that show up now, not just comments that are direct replies.

LivingWaterCreek simple mind ⋅ October 17, 2014

Thanks.

SecretsandLies October 19, 2014

Not related to the post but is there a way to upload pictures into entries? (Sorry if it's obvious, or only available on computer version. I'm mostly on my phone when using this website)

simple mind SecretsandLies ⋅ October 19, 2014

No, Prosebox doesn't store photos (beyond the profile pic). You've have to use a service like Photobucket or Flickr, and link to photos there.

SecretsandLies simple mind ⋅ October 19, 2014

Okay thanks for your help!

Deleted user October 21, 2014

I wish there was a way you could edit a comment

Loki Deleted user ⋅ November 24, 2014

  • yes! That would be glorious! I type very quickly, and if I'm in a rush, I tend to miss typos. . . So, it would be great to be able to edit and fix =]
dickson. October 27, 2014

Aww sigh, I can't put bold or italics in my notes anymoar. is there a new way to do that?

simple mind dickson. ⋅ October 27, 2014

Well, you should still be able to... testing!!

dickson. simple mind ⋅ October 27, 2014

testing testing

simple mind dickson. ⋅ October 27, 2014

Looks good on my end, my last comment was typed like so:

Well, you *should* still be able to... **testing**!!
dickson. simple mind ⋅ October 27, 2014

weeeeird, it didn't work on my frands entries. I WILL GO TRY AGAIN.

January Child October 31, 2014

I would love a feature where I get an email when someone has left a comment on one of my entries.

Deleted user January Child ⋅ November 11, 2014

YES! because my emails come to my cell can we have email notifications pz

Skwisgaar Skwigelf November 25, 2014

I haves no ideas what the fucks you are talkings about.

Deleted user December 03, 2014

I'm not having any problems. Things seem to be working just fine for me.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.