Adventure - part deux in One day at a time

  • Oct. 16, 2014, 6:27 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So on to Vegas. Ya’all know about “what happens in Vegas”, but we had a slightly different plan. We had done very little shopping in NYC (which is highly unusual), and all had a number of things on our to buy lists. Before you roll your eyes .and mutter “who tf goes to Vegas to shop?”, I would just like to point out that clothing is on the whole about half the price of what we pay for it here. Your average Guess handbag sells for around $200.00, and I (reluctantly) pay $40.00 for a Clinique lipstick, and anything over the size of about 12 pretty much resembles a moomoo.

So on with the show. Our Virgin America flight was non eventful. The girls were kind enough to give me the window seat again (believe it or not I still have some flying “issues”). I enjoyed flying over the USA and looking at the tiny little towns from the air. I couldn’t figure out how to work the flight tracker so unfortunately I don’t know exactly what we did fly over. By the time I figured it out we were over Salt Lake City and onto final approach. VX are what we call a budget carrier – headphones were $3.00, they supplied a round of free coffee/tea and soda but you had to pay for everything else. It was a very modern plane, and we could watch television onboard. I was delighted to catch another episode of Young and the Restless. Wahoo Phylis came out of her coma and made it home hitchhiking (after a year). Only in a soap!

A little over 5 hours later we landed in Vegas. We picked up a rental car, an absolutely gorgeous White Chevy SUV, that we immediately named ANA because, that was her number plate – and we didn’t want any boys on this mission. With the exception of my GPS who is named Chip. He is quite bossy, but also very forgiving when you miss a turn (re-calculating route). Straight off to the first stop – another quiliting store out in the burbs. This one had some amazing Halloween prints, but again I couldn’t get my mind into a crafty groove, so left empty handed. Gini had the best time though. A quick stop at a supermarket for beer, water, chips and guac - basically all your holiday essentials and then off to Paris, our new home base.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.