Corsi and Rosenthal and stuff in The Amalgamated Aggromulator

  • April 5, 2024, 7:14 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

And the thing I was worried about turned out to be absolutely nothing. :) The paperwork passed smooth as butter.
In general, the things I worry about most aren’t the things that come to pass. So far.

I will worry as much next time with the same kind of thing, though I usually won’t write or talk about it then because it’s too complicated. It’s the kind of thing that gets to me most, for two reasons:
It touches my living terrors. I’m scatterbrained enough, the ADD working-memory thing, that I hold very tightly to an internal posture of “at least I’m right on the IMPORTANT stuff. I don’t let the IMPORTANT things slip.” I walk moment to moment through a blurry landscape of reconstructing priorities from whatever I happen to be looking at with my inadequate pen-light, but at least I’m on top of the mission-critical things, in very intent fashion. So - when something important does slip it’s an earthquake.
And I dread messes that are consequences of five or six other tangles in combination. Networked messes. Cause and effect ganging up on my stupid little head, surrounding me with ramifications only a few of which I can change at the moment.


When I came back in here I found that I had already typed in a title for my next entry, “Corsi and Rosenthal and stuff”. Evidently I wanted to talk about Corsi-Rosenthal boxes. Well, you should know what they are. (They are a cube you build out of a square box fan and the cardboard box the fan came in and four furnace air filters and duct tape. They provide a whole lot of effective indoor air exchanges and filter a lot of virus out of the air if there is any, as well as pollen or etc.) I made one a year or so ago, bought the stuff and taped it together. And I will not need to take it apart and build another out of new filters for a long time, because I am almost never allowed to run the thing, because it makes some noise even with the fan on low. This is not an area I’ve won household arguments in. The only time my mother has wanted me to run it has been when someone is actually severely coughing and we’re all probably already infected with whatever it is if we’re going to be - and even then generally only for the one day.
Anyway, they are a really good idea, worth investigating.


This is the problem with writing rarely (and with only really having time to write if I get up far too early). I build up lots of things I’ve been bursting to write about or to talk with someone about - Bishop Kirill’s declaration that Putin’s war on Ukraine is a holy war to restore “holy Rus”, the IDF’s conduct in Gaza, the possibility of a second Trump administration, science funding being far too low and in danger at that because people have built careers on the holiness of cutting funding, wow this is a negative list when I look at it - but then when it actually comes to it I have even more things built up than I realized, and it appears that the most immediate stuff that needs clearing is personal practical stuff that I don’t find as interesting. But it’s there. It’s like I have something stuck in my throat and the something is me.

It appears that my teeth will be taken care of toward the end of April. Once that is finally settled I’ll be free to proceed with my job search with less acute worry about insurance.
The postal service still has my application on their pre-hire list, but, rather than the wait of a few weeks that some Googling told me to expect, it appears now that they may be working through a significant percentage of the population of this city.


Last updated April 05, 2024


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.