How many states? in The Long and Winding Road

  • April 3, 2024, 6:27 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I borrowed this from another diarist:

Visiting all 50 states was probably on somebody’s bucket list, but studies show that out of 50 states, 8 is the average number most people have visited. Sadly, many never leave the state in which they were born. Put an X by all the states you have been to. Put a XX where you have lived. Passing through an airport counts–but flying over doesn’t. The average is 8 for Americans.

Alaska -
Alabama - X
Arizona - X
Arkansas - XX
California - XX
Colorado - X
Connecticut - X
Delaware - X
Florida - X
Georgia - X
Hawaii -
Idaho - X
Illinois - X
Indiana - X
Iowa - X
Kansas - X
Kentucky - X
Louisiana- XX
Maine -
Maryland - X
Massachusetts -
Michigan - XX
Minnesota - X
Mississippi - XX
Missouri - X
Montana - X
Nebraska - X
Nevada - X
New Hampshire -
New Jersey - XX
New Mexico- XX
New York - XX
North Carolina - X
North Dakota - X
Ohio - XX
Oklahoma - XX
Oregon - X
Pennsylvania - XX
Rhode Island -
South Carolina - X
South Dakota - X
Tennessee - X
Texas - X
Utah - X
Vermont -
Virginia - X
Washington - XX
West Virginia - X
Wisconsin - X
Wyoming - X
WASHINGTON, DC -


Beret April 03, 2024

8???? That's pathetic. Of course, if you live in the east the states are smaller and perhaps it's easier to visit them. I have 48 on my list. The only two states I have never been to are North Dakota and Arkansas.

Anaiss Beret ⋅ April 03, 2024

I agree, it's sad. I'd like to think maybe the country wouldn't be so divided if more people saw that other states both near and far are full of good people and have lots going for them. Travel is so essential to education and being well rounded, I think.

SambucaofDoom April 03, 2024

I ain't been to any of them but Dad was born in New York, so I am half New Yorker lol... I'd love to live in New Orleans LA. :)

NeonLady April 03, 2024

20 + Washington DC 👍🏻

GypsyWynd April 03, 2024

  1. Lived in 2.
Mystery April 04, 2024

Wow, you've lived in more states than I have.

Just Annie April 04, 2024

I've been to 23, but only lived in one. Ohio.

plushcreep April 04, 2024

I believe I'm at 44, but my dad was in the Air Force and you know what a sucker I am for moving around, ha!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.