Indian Summer in Meeting Mr. Jesus Christ

  • Oct. 13, 2014, 11:45 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

A productive day for me, starting early with getting a huge load of towels and bathmats rinsed, bleached, rinsed, washed, and rinsed again, between each cycle wringing them by hand to dry them enough to race them from the bathtub to the washing machine that only functions in the spin cycle. I’m deeply grateful for that spinner. This massive washing was a result of doing a load of laundry two nights ago when I forgot the water was running to fill the tub and it overflowed, soaking my entire bathroom. Not one of my better moments.

When the laundry was done I bleached down the entire bathroom and cleaned all the decorative items as well. Then on to cleaning the kitchen, a fairly quick task. A friend stopped by to change a few light bulbs for me. I wasn’t able to loosen the screws on the porch light and for weeks it has been darker than I’m comfortable with. Another light in the hallway, too far out of my reach, and ladders are no longer in my abilities. A couple more of those screwy new energy efficient bulbs needed removing from a pair of dimmer lights, that’s a major fire hazard. Glad to have all those taken care of.

Mid afternoon a friend picked me up so I could go to the pharmacy and drop off prescriptions needing filled. On our way we stopped at a cemetery because she needed to take care of some paperwork. I went in the office with her for a map to find my step-son’s burial plot. We were asked to wait in a room and help would be right in.

Two ladies arrived within minutes. They introduced themselves and I was given the map for my step-son’s location. In the next breath this lady tried to start selling ME a cemetery plot. I politely told her I didn’t need one. She then asked me, “Well, what do you plan to do?” Are you kidding me, can you be any ruder? So I answered her, “I’m just going to evaporate!” She looked at me a little cross-eyed and immediately proceeded with her sales pitch. I cut her off and informed her there was no point in her wasting her time, that I don’t have the money for a plot nor was I interested in discussing my options. My gosh, she was as persistent as the funeral homes are. Vultures.

While my friend stayed on to take care of her business I excused myself to give her privacy and wandered several areas of the cemetery taking photographs. I have a passion for taking pictures of cemetery statuary and other interesting things one finds in the grave yard. There is so much history to be learned of there.

Today was a lovely, warm, occasionally misty Indian Summer day. It is eleven-thirty p.m..and still the warm southern breeze is present. Since noon I have been outdoors nearly non-stop, grateful for my porch where I can just sit in the breeze enjoying the sights and sounds of the day and night. This won’t last much longer so I’m not wasting any time I can spare.

For whatever reasons cell phones do what they do mine decided to go wonky this evening. I was on a call when the signal dropped. Upon redialing I got a message saying turn off airplane mode, so I did. I redialed and got a second message telling me turn off airplane mode and my SIM card was invalid and needed updating at a phone center. I’m not fond of the phone I have and have many times wished I could replace it but cannot begin to afford to. The current state of my phone is leaving me with considerably less humor toward it than before this issue cropped up.

Regardless, this has been a wonderful day. There was a point this evening (after the phone situation!) that I realized I felt happy. It has been a long time since a real sense of happiness has resided in me. All along I have been contented but I’ve just been floating on through my days without internally feeling happy. It’s nice to feel it again!

God blessed me with many wonderful things today. Friends, a visit with my step-son at his grave, help from friends and time to enjoy a great deal of His beautiful creations here. It is no wonder I am feeling happy tonight, amen!


Site Meter

web stats

find my ip


crystal butterfly October 14, 2014

I have been known to take out the battery of the phone and put it back in. Sort of a reboot. I like the idea of just evaporating.

LivingWaterCreek crystal butterfly ⋅ October 14, 2014

lol

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.