You just never know... in A new beginning

  • Oct. 13, 2014, 10:59 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So a few weeks ago I was looking for fun family things to do for the fall and Halloween. I know Jesse is into scary things so I showed him this place that had tons of family stuff to do and also they have a haunted hay ride called “The gauntlet”. He instantly wanted to go on it. My sister did as well. They finally talked me into it and we planned for a night where all of our schedules would allow us to go together. We had originally planned for last Saturday (two days ago) but my sister couldn’t get off work. Well, Saturday night the brakes went out on the tractor that was pulling everyone on the Gauntlet and it flipped killing a couple people and seriously injuring everyone else on board. Two of the people killed were teenagers and one of the seriously injured was a 16 year old boy that had to be lifeflighted to Boston Children’s Hospital. I know of at least a couple others that were supposed to be on it too at that time. I can’t even imagine what those poor families are going through. You just never know.

We actually had went on two hayrides earlier in the day too. We did enjoy ourselves at this farm we went to and Lilly got her face painted and went through a hay maze and did other fun stuff. Yesterday I let Jesse sleep the day away since he averages 2 hours of sleep a day, I figured that would be the right thing to do anyway. Too bad I didn’t get much sleep last night. Lilly reverted to a newborn and all of the sudden got pissed off and screamed most of the night. Not sure what that was all about but she does that every once in a while. Finally got her to sleep around 1 am but then she kept waking up and crying. I think she has night terrors. You just can’t talk any sense into her. It is fitting for a little terror like her. ha. Praying she does better tonight and tomorrow. My surgery is tomorrow and Jesse requested the wrong day off so not only do I have her alone tonight but I’ll have her alone after my surgery tomorrow too. ugh. Not sure how that’s going to work. Everyone PRAY she goes to sleep easily at least tomorrow night. I will about 30 minutes of sleep tomorrow when I am put out during surgery at least. haha. Pretty bad when I am more worried about how Lilly is going to behave tomorrow night verses being knocked out for surgery. Wednesday is training day at my work which consists of pretty much just sitting there all day watching presentations and then the very last of it you have to show you know how to use a fire extinguisher and obviously use it. I’ll get out of that one at least this year and go home a tad bit earlier. I think after sitting through 5 of these I should know how to use a fire extinguisher by now.

And of course I got another thing added to my job description today. Lithium manager called myself and the MA that I work the closest with into her office to tell us that she wants me doing all of the preops as patients are being consented for surgery starting tomorrow. As in, I screen patients all of the hand patients and clear them for surgery and still book all of the surgeries too. Of course I’ve had no training and have no certifications to do that but you know that makes the most sense. The MA I work with said it wasn’t going to work and they kind of argued for a bit but I just said I would do it and didn’t say anything negative about it in front of lithium manager because I know I will pay for it later if I do. Just have to smile and say yes massa basically. I think it will be pretty funny when she brings patients to me this week to get preop when I am wearing my big bulky post op splint. In our meeting lithium manager didn’t realize for some reason that tomorrow was my surgery and had me on the schedule for the full day. I will be working a half day up until I go in for my surgery like last time. My surgery is supposed to start at 12:45 but I have to be there for noon. Pretty convenient that I can work for four hours then just walk over to the other side of the building to the surgery center and get admitted. I guess I should get some sleep now. Here’s to hoping I don’t do anything embarrassing before, during and after surgery!


NeonLady October 13, 2014

Oh my goodness!! Two people killed?! So sad. Glad you weren't there!!

Sucks that you won't have help after surgery! :(

Fawkes Gal October 16, 2014

Oh how awful, whoever would think something could go so terribly wrong on something as innocuous as a hayride?

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.